San Francisco History

Historical Abstract of San Francisco


Dahl, Christian J.; a lawyer who was raised to the trade of a machinist, was master of S. F. lodge No. 68, International Association of Machinists, before removing to Los Angeles in 1892. He was born in Iowa, April 10, 1865; and was admitted to the bar at S. F., July 20, 1891.

Daingerfield, Wm. P.; a widely known jurist, settled in S. F., in 1865; was Judge of the 12th District Court, 1876-79; Presiding Judge of the Superior Court, in 1880; expired suddenly while holding Court, four months after taking office, May 5, 1880; had been Judge of the 9th District Court at Shasta before locating in S. F. A sketch of his career is in the Evening Post, of Jan. 20, 1883. Was a native of Virginia.

Daingerfield, Wm. R.; son of the preceding; was elected in Nov., 1892, Judge of the Supreme Court for the unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 1894, and was elected in Nov., 1894, for six years from Jan., 1895; as born at Shasta, Cal., June 9, 1857; is a graduate of the University of California, and was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court in Oct., 1879.

Dairymen's Union of California opened business in 1892 at 113-119 Davis street, which is the present location. Wm. S. Pierce was president, Wm. Hatton, secretary, and Louis Tomasini, manager. Henry Brunner became secretary in 1894, succeeded by John R. Denman in 1895; in 1895, also, Warren Dutton became president, Geo. W. Burbank, vice president, and E. W. Steele, treasurer; Mr. Tomasini continues as manager.

Dake, Edmund C.; who had been a leading clothing merchant since 1858, established Dake's Advertising Agency, in 1882, and is still conducting it as sole proprietor; his son Edmund D. Dake, being manager.

Dall, Capt. C. C.; veteran captain of ocean steamers, died June 14, 1885; a native of N. Y., aged 54.

Dall, W. H.; his lines on the Death of Louis Agassiz, appeared in 1873, and are in "California Anthology."

Dalliba, Henry S.; veteran newspaper reporter, in continuous service in that sphere longer than any other man in the State, came to S. F., in 1850; was bookkeeper on the Evening Journal, 1856; was one of those who hastened to the help of James King of Wm., editor of the Bulletin, when that hero was shot down by Casey, May 14, 1856, and carried him to the Pacific Express office; was bookkeeper of the Herald, 1860-61; was local reporter on Bulletin for 23 years before his death, which occurred at S. F., Dec, 14, 1896; Mr. D. was a native of Mass., aged 61, and was buried from St. Mary's Cathedral.

Dalton, Frank; a leading produce commission merchant since 1871; was a School Director, in 1889-90, and President of the Board of Education during his term of two years.

Daly, Patrick Henry; died Dec. 10, 1867, holding the office of Fire Commissioner, and while Supervisor for the Third Ward, aged 97 years.

Dameron, James P.; well-known lawyer, and owner of valuable real property in the city and other parts of the State, registered on June 2, 1866, as native of N. C., aged 36. He came to California at a very early day, and for a few years delved in the mines of Placer Co. A notice of his life is in the Post, of June 16, 1882.

D'Ancona, A. A.; physician, and professor of physiology in the medical and dental departments of the State University, has been in medical practice at S. F. since 1886, before which he was a teacher in the public schools for six years.

D'Ancona, Alex. D.; a graduate of the University of California; located in S. F., in 1870; taught in the public schools, 1876-80; was admitted to the bar of the State Supreme Court, May 30, 1881. He was born in N. Y., Nov. 2, 1855.

Danforth, Edwin; prominent citizen, who was a member of the Board of Supervisors for the years 1878-79; was bookkeeper of the Broadway Bonded Warehouse, 1871-74; from 1874 to 1894 he was sole proprietor of that property; since 1894, Mr. Edward P. Danforth and Mr. Chas. H. Gilman have been associated with him. Mr. D. registered Sept. 6, 1870, as a native of Mass., aged 41.

Daniels, Joseph; for many years bookkeeper of the S. F. Gas Light Co., died May 25, 1886; a native of Mass., aged 76. Sketch written by direction of Mr. Geo. K. Fitch, is in Bulletin of May 26, 1886.

Danish Society (Norden) was organized in July, 1873.

Danziger, Dr. Gustav Adolf; a student of Semitic literature, and joint author with Ambrose Bierce of the novel, "The Monk and the Hangman's Daughter," was a practicing dentist in S. F., 1888-94. He was born in Austria; came to America in boyhood, and to California, in 1887.

[drawing not included: GUSTAV ADOLF DANZIGER.]

Dartmouth College Alumni Association was organized in 1881.

Darwin, Chas. Ben.; prominent lawyer, is a pioneer of Sept., 1849; was Assistant District Attorney, 1872-73; 1876-77; 1878-79; is a native of N. Y., and was admitted to the bar in Tenn., in 1848; was distinguished at the bar and in legislation in Tennessee and Iowa before coming to this State.

Dashaway Association opened their new hall, on Post street, Nov. 3, 1878.

Daughters of the American Revolution; Sequoia Chapter was organized Dec. 10, 1891.

Davidson, George; eminent engineer; was Assistant in the U. S. Coast Survey at S. F., from 1869 to 1895; was born in England, in May, 1825; was made a citizen in Philadelphia, in Nov., 1848; is author of many historical and scientific works and papers. Prof. D. was invited by a unanimous vote of the Board of Supervisors, passed Oct. 26, 1885, to present his views upon the sewerage system of S. F.; his report, dated April 15, 1886, was read in the Board, May 3, 1886, and was, by order of the Board, published in pamphlet form. It is found in Municipal Reports for 1885-86, pages 107-114 of appendix. The Professor took passage, with a party, on the steamer for Japan, Aug. 29, 1874, to observe the transit of Venus. He was appointed by Gov. Irwin, regent of the State University, Dec. 17, 1879, vice John B. Felton, deceased; was President of the California Academy of Natural Sciences, 1881-83; a sketch of his life is in Bancroft's "Contemporary Biography."

Davidson, B., & Co.; bankers, were established in 1849; Mr. D., who was a pioneer of Aug. 18, 1849, died at Sidmouth, Devonshire, England, Sept. 21, 1878, after a long illness, aged 56. A copy of his will was filed for probate in S. F., June 1, 1880; his estate in England was worth $500,000, besides a fine park in Devonshire; his estate in California was appraised at $101,000.

Davidson, William W.; well-known lawyer; was born in Mo., Sept. 4, 1857; received the degree of A. B. from the California College in 1878; graduated from Hastings College in the class of 1882; in May of that year was admitted to the bar of the State Supreme Court; located in S. F., in May, 1883.

Davidson, J. W., & Co.; (John W. Davidson, Wm. Davidson, Geo. H. Huntsman, and Raphael and Henry Weill) large wholesale and retail fancy and domestic dry goods house, was established by J. W. Davidson and R. Lane (D. & L.), in 1854; the style became J. W. Davidson & Co., when Raphael Weill took Mr. Lane's interest in 1857; Mr. Huntsman entered in 1862; Wm. Davidson and Henry Weill, in 1868; the partners, in 1881, were J. W. Davidson and Raphael and Henry Weill, and so continued to 1885, when the style became as at present, Raphael Weill & Co., the partners being Raphael and Henry Weill and Eugene Gallois. Albert Roullier became a member of the firm in 1889; the firm since 1892, has been composed of Raphael Weill, Eugene Gallois, and Albert Roullier. The house was incorporated in 1895, as Raphael Weill & Co., with Mr. Weill as president, Mr. Gallois, first vice president, Mr. Roullier, second vice president, and Alexander Hamilton, secretary.

Davidson Observatory, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, Astronomical and Telegraph Longitude Station, was established by Prof. Geo. Davidson in 1884, in Lafayette Park, corner Octavia and Clay streets, where it still stands.

Davidson & Leigh, (Geo. Davidson and E. A. Leigh) the prominent real estate and insurance house, was established in 1890; both gentlemen had been together for many years up to that time with O. Livermore, the large real estate owner and dealer, to whose business they succeeded.

Davis, A. Mc. F.; was a School Director for the years 1874-75; and was President of the Board of Education, in 1875.

Davis, Horace; distinguished citizen and scholar; was born in Mass., in 1831; his father John Davis, was Gov. of Mass., 1841-45, and afterwards for ten years a Member of the National House of Representatives, and for sixteen years U. S. Senator. Horace Davis graduated from Harvard College in 1849; arrived at S. F. around the Horn, April 1, 1853; established the Golden Gate Flouring Mills, in 1860; was a Member of the National House of Representatives, for two terms, March 4, 1877-March 4, 1881; married Miss Edith, daughter of Thos. Starr King, in Feb., 1875. Mr. Davis was President of the Mercantile Library Association, 1864; President of the Produce Exchange, 1866-76; President of the Chamber of Commerce, 1883-84. He was one of the original trustees of the Leland Stanford, Jr. University, named in the grant of Nov. 11, 1885. He was inaugurated President of the University of California, March 23, 1888. He is the author of an essay on Shakespeare's Sonnets, in Overland Monthly, 1887, which was reprinted in pamphlet; bought the home of Henry A. Palmer at Berkeley for $20,000, May, 1888. Sketch and portrait of Mr. D. are in "Resources of California," Sept., 1886.

Davis, Henry L.; a prominent citizen who was Sheriff for two terms, 1864-67; was born in R. I., Oct. 17, 1827; was one of the organizers of the California Wire Works, and of the cable system of street railways; has been the head of the California Optical Co. since 1888. He removed his residence to N. Y. in 1883, and returned to S. F. in May, 1888.

Davis, John W.; a discharged U. S. soldier, committed suicide May 1, 1871, and was buried as a pauper. Twenty years later it was discovered that he had a "nest egg" in a savings bank, which had grown to over $1,000. No heir can be found.

Davis, Jacob Z.; millionaire, and pioneer of Aug. 4, 1849; a valuable friend of the Mining Bureau and of the Societies for prevention of cruelty; died Oct. 28, 1896, while visiting at Philadelphia, his remains were cremated, pursuant to his wish.

Dawsey, Mrs. Sarah; (colored;) died Nov. 6, 1870, aged 113 years.

Day, Thomas, & Co.; importers and manufacturers of gas and electric fixtures, was incorporated in 1886. This house was established by Thomas Day, who was an oil and camphine chandler at No. 732 Montgomery street, near Jackson (old No. 188) as early as 1855; he very soon imported gas fixtures, and otherwise enlarged his business, and in 1869, opened an additional and more stylish store at 335 Pine street; the old Montgomery street place was closed in 1874; from 1876 to 1886, the business was at 122-124 Sutter street; was removed to its present location, 222 Sutter, at the time of incorporation, in 1886. From 1883 to the present, the business has been owned by Frank J. Symmes and Vanderlynn Stow, and ever since the incorporation, Mr. Symmes has been president, and Mr. Stow, secretary and treasurer.

Dean, James O.; was Auditor of the Savings and Loan Society, 1863-73; License Collector, Sept. 14, 1874-Dec. 31, 1875.

Dean, Peter; President of the Merchants' Exchange Bank of S. F., since 1883, is a pioneer of June 10, 1849; was President of the Pioneers, July, 1877-July, 1878; was State Senator, 1877-78; registered on June 6, 1870, as a native of England, aged 41.

Deane, Dr. Charles Tennyson; distinguished physician and surgeon; has practiced in S. F., since 1865; was a School Director in 1885-86. He registered on June 1, 1866, as a native of N. Y., aged 27.

Deane, John; of Murphy, Grant & Co., died at his residence, Claremont, Alameda Co., April 27, 1885; a native of Ireland, aged 52 years, 7 months; was buried with the rites of the Catholic Church; a brother of Coll and Hugh E. Deane.

Deal, W. E. F.; a prominent lawyer; born in Md., March 8, 1840; graduated from Dickinson College (Penn.), 1859; arrived in S. F. in the same year; taught school at Oakland, in 1859-60; and at Colusa a part of 1860; and at Nevada City, 1861-63; was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of the State of Nevada, in 1865, and of the U. S. Supreme Court at Washington, D. C., in 1876; settled in S. F. in 1894.

Deck, Auguste; died in Oct., 1853, leaving an estate of $100,000; efforts to escheat the property failed. For "The Great Deck Case," see Bulletin, Aug. 9, 10, 1856, and Oct. 10, 1859; Supreme Court Reports, vol. 6, page 666, and vol. 12, page 433; also Senate Journal, 5th session, page 447.

De Fremery, Jas. & Co.; importers and commission merchants; James de Fremery who is still the head of this house, was in the business as early as 1855; his partner, Wm. C. B. de Fremery, joined him in 1868, when the present style of the house was assumed. Mr. James de Fremery was consul for Mecklenburg-Schwerin from 1859 to 1869; consul for the Netherlands, 1863 to 1891; President of the S. F. Savings Union, 1868-82; and his firm were agents for the Amsterdam Board of Underwriters from 1870 to 1891. During this long period, both partners have always resided in Oakland.

De Haro Title; settlers on the Potrero fired 200 guns, on receipt of news that the U. S. Supreme Court had decided against the De Haro claimants, May 14, 1867.

Francisco De Haro died Jan. 1, 1849, leaving no will; for his estate and heirs, see Mahoney vs. Middleton, 41 Cal., 43; for interesting early history, see Sill vs. Reese, 47 Cal., 296.

De Haven, John J.; distinguished lawyer and jurist, upon leaving the bench of the Supreme Court, in Jan., 1895, located in S. F., and formed a law partnership with S. C. Denson, once Superior Judge of Sacramento Co., which partnership continues (Denson & De Haven). Judge De Haven's previous residence was in Humboldt Co., which he represented in the Assembly, Dec. 6, 1869 to April 4, 1870. He was one of 12 Republicans in a body of 80 members, and towards the middle of the session was added to the judiciary committee, on motion of the Chairman, Naphtaly, Democrat. He was also Senator from Humboldt at the sessions of 1871-72 and 1873-74. His term of service on the Supreme Bench was four years.

Delmas, D. M.; distinguished lawyer, was born in France, of French parents, April 14, 1844; son of a California pioneer of 1849, he followed the latter in 1854, and graduated from Santa Clara College in 1863, receiving, with the highest honors, the degree of Master of Arts; graduated from the Law Department of Yale College, 1865; admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of Connecticut, Sept., 1865, and of the Supreme Court of California, in Feb., 1866; was District Attorney, Santa Clara Co., 1868-69. Mr. D. removed to S. F. in 1882. When the Democratic State Convention, at Stockton, declared against Judge Field's presidential aspirations, in 1884, Mr. D. led the anti-Field majority. He bought the family residence of Wm. T. Coleman, S. W. corner Taylor and Washington streets, for $40,000, in 1890; while he was a Regent of the University of California, he was President of the Day at the inauguration of Hon. Horace Davis as President of the University, March 23, 1888; formed a law partnership with Samuel M. Shortridge, in 1893, which still continues.

Delabigne, J. B.; old flour merchant; committed suicide Oct. 3, 1867, aged 75.

Delany, Chas. McC.; was City Attorney, Jan.-Nov., 1852; died near Napa City, May 26, 1881, a native of Ireland, aged 55.

De Lesseps, Ferdinand; distinguished French engineer, who built the Suez Canal, arrived March 17, 1880; he was then 75 years old, and visiting the U.S. in the interest of the Panama Canal.

Demokrat, California; German daily morning paper, now the oldest daily existing on the Pacific coat, was founded in 1853, by Dr. F. Von Loehr; it was bought by its present owner, Mr. Frederick Hess, in 1858, he then being only eighteen years of age.

Demorest, Dr. Jacob M.; committed suicide with poison, Dec. 30, 1877.

Denio, Walter S.; melter and refiner at the U. S. Mint, died of congestion of the lungs, Feb. 10, 1865, age 36.

Denman, James; influential citizen; was principal of the Denman public school, (now a grammar school for girls) from Nov. 17, 1851 to June, 1857; and from July 3, 1864, to Dec., 1867; and from Jan., 1871 to Dec., 1873; and from June 13, 1876 to 1889, when he permanently retired. Mr. D. was Superintendent of Common Schools, 1859-61; 1868-70; and 1874-75; and a member of the Board of Education, Oct. 9, 1889 to Jan., 1891; and a member of the Board of Supervisors, 1893-94. For his valuable historical sketch of the Public Schools of S. F., including the Denman Medal Fund, see Municipal Reports, 1879-80, page 632. Mr. D. registered on June 5, 1866, as a native of N. Y., aged 37. A sketch of his life is in Bancroft's "Contemporary Biography."

Denman Medal Fund for Girls; was established by James Denman in June, 1865, by a donation of $1,000, the interest of which was to be expended annually in procuring silver medals for the most deserving pupils of the Denman Grammar School.

Denman Grammar School Building, N. W. Bush and Taylor streets, was completed and opened in 1864. James Denman was the first principal of this school, (in 1851) which was given his name upon his first retirement from teaching, on account of ill health, in 1857. He was also the first principal of the school, after the erection of the present building, in 1864.

Dennison, E. S.; lieutenant U. S. Navy; committed suicide on April 18, 1873.

Denny, G. J.; a marine painter, of S. F., of some distinction, died suddenly at Cambria, San Luis Obispo Co., Oct. 7, 1886. Irving M. Scott has one of his best pictures. The large marine view in the office of the Lick House is by him; also were the drop curtains of the old Academy of Music and Maguire's Opera House. He was born in Delaware, and reached the age of 50 years.

Denson, S. C.; prominent lawyer; was born in Illinois, Sept. 23, 1839; arrived in California in 1860; admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of Nevada Territory in March, 1864; was Assemblyman from Ormsby Co., Nev., 1864-65; District Attorney, same county, 1866-68; resigned, and located in Sacramento, Cal., in 1868; was District Judge for Sacramento and Yolo, 1876-1879; first Superior Judge of Sacramento under the Constitution of 1879; presided at the celebrated trial of Troy Dye, for the murder of A. M. Tullis; removed to S. F. in 1889.

Desmond, Thomas; was Sheriff in 1880-81; elected by the Workingman's Party.

Desty, Robert; an industrious writer of law books; was principal of the West End School, 1867-68; elected joint Senator for S. F. and San Mateo, on the Workingmen's ticket, 1879; was refused his seat by the Republican majority, on the ground that his naturalization was defective; he removed to Rochester, N. Y., in 1880, continuing his law writings, and died there in 1896; was a native of Canada. His true full name was Robert Daillibout d'Estimanville de Beau Mouchi.

Deuprey, Eugene N.; prominent lawyer; was born in Louisiana, in 1850; grew up from early boyhood, in S. F.; pursued his law studies in the office of the noted firm of the Shafters; came to the bar in 1871, and very soon took a commanding place.

Deutscher Krieger Verein was organized in 1884.

Deveny, Peter; a Member of the Assembly, in 1885; School Director, 1881, appointed March 14, 1881, vice N. B. Stone, resigned; was Clerk Justices Court, 1886-88, Fee Clerk, Treasurer's office, since 1895.

Devine, John; "The Chicken;" was executed for the murder of August Kemp, May 14, 1873.

Devine, P. J.; a prominent sculptor, died Jan. 1, 1870.

Devoto, James Augustus; was born at S. F., July 29, 1869; educated at the S. F. Grammar and High Schools; graduated from Hastings Law College and took a further course of study in Rome; was admitted to the bar of California Supreme Court, May 5, 1890.

Dewey & Co.; (Geo. H. Strong, A. T. Dewey, and W. B. Ewer) patent solicitors; and the Dewey Publishing Co., J. F., Halloran, general manager, publishers of the Pacific Rural Press, and the Mining and Scientific Press; had a common origin in the firm of Ewer & Smith (Warren B. Ewer and C. W. M. Smith) who established the last named paper in 1863. Mr. A. T. Dewey entered the firm the next year, when it was styled Dewey & Co., and the business of patent agents was added. Mr. Smith withdrew, and Geo. H. Strong and Jno. L. Boone entered, in 1870, when the firm began the Pacific Rural Press. The firm added "wood engraving" to their business in 1873; Gen. Boone withdrew, and "photo engraving" was added to the business in 1879. Both the firm and the business were divided in 1880, when there became two firms of the name of Dewey & Co., one composed of Alfred T. Dewey and Warren B. Ewer, the other of Alfred T. Dewey, Warren B. Ewer, and Geo. H. Strong; the first named continued the publication of the papers already mentioned and also began the publication of the Pacific States Watchman, a weekly, devoted to fraternal orders; they also continued the engraving business; the other firm held to patent agencies; the publishing firm took the style of the Dewey Publishing Co., in 1892, with Alfred Holman as manager, succeeded by Mr. Halloran the next year.

Dewey, Squire P.; pioneer of July 5, 1849; acquired large wealth in real estate; returned to N. Y., his native State, in 1885; contributed $250 to the Starr King Monument in June, 1888; contributed $500 to the Bush Relief Fund for laborers, March 3, 1880; died in N. Y. City, in April, 1889, at the age of 70; a sketch is in Bancroft's "Contemporary Biography;" for his litigation with Rodman M. Price, see Chapter on John T. Doyle in "Bench and Bar." He was tried on charged of criminal libel of Rodman M. Price, and was acquitted, Nov. 17, 1880.

Dewing Company, The J.; publishers; and importers and manufacturers of pianos; Jas. Dewing, president; Madison S. Dewing, vice president; this firm has had this style since 1886; from that year back to 1883, it was in two parts, both styled J. Dewing & Co.; one, composed of James and Madison S. Dewing, carried on the business of publishers and booksellers; the other (James, Madison S. and Amasa J. Dewing) that of piano makers; except that Jas. Dewing had no partner in the publishing business in the years 1883-84-85.

This now reorganized house had its foundation in that of Dewing & Laws (Francis Dewing and Jeremiah Laws) importers of subscription books, established in 1864. This latter became Francis Dewing & Co., in 1867; Mr. James Dewing, the present president, became a partner in 1871.

Dey, Richard V.; capitalist; was executor, with John W. Mackay, of the will of Mrs. Theresa Fair; their final account as such executors was settled July 13, 1893; their commissions amounted to $52,786, on an estate of $5,096,646; Mr, Dey was presented by John W. Mackay, with a gold watch costing $500, at Virginia City, Nev., July 6, 1881.

De Young, Charles; senior proprietor and founder of the Chronicle, shot and dangerously wounded Isaac S. Kalloch, on Aug. 23, 1879. K. was then running for Mayor on the Workingmen's ticket, and was elected while confined in bed from his injuries. Mr. De Young was shot and killed by Isaac M. Kalloch on April 23, 1880. He was a native of Louisiana, aged 35. His brain was found to weigh 44 ounces.

De Young, M. H.; one of the founders, and, since the death of his brother in 1880, sole proprietor of the San Francisco Chronicle, was shot and dangerously wounded by A. B. Spreckles on Nov. 19, 1884. S. was acquitted by a jury in the Superior Court. Mr. D. was Director General of the Midwinter Fair of 1893; he gave $5,000 to that enterprise on July 13, 1893; he registered Oct. 1. 1867, as a native of Missouri, aged 21. "Benefits of the Midwinter Exposition, S. F.", an article by M. H. De Young, appeared in the Californian Magazine for March, 1894. At the election of the U. S. Senator in the legislature, Jan. 22, 1895, among the candidates placed in nomination, Mr. D. received 4 votes in the Senate, and 12 in the Assembly. This was the occasion when Hon. Geo. C. Perkins was first elected, for the unexpired term of Senator Stanford.

[drawing not included: M. H. de YOUNG.]

Mrs. M. H. De Young pressed the electric button which set in motion the machinery at Sunset City, Jan. 27, 1894 (California Midwinter Exposition at S. F.)

[drawing not included: MRS. M. H. de YOUNG.]

Diamond, Miss Carrie; an attractive young woman, doing a large business as a milliner at 402 Kearny street, died suddenly under suspicious circumstances, on Nov. 28, 1869. A well-known citizen was indicted for her murder, and was tried and acquitted. Dr. Isaac Rowell testified that she died from a clot of blood on the brain.

Diamond, G. E. D.; a book canvasser, who had located in S. F. some seven years prior, completed his 100th year, May 1, 1896; is still living at this publication.

Dibble, Henry C. prominent lawyer, editorial writer and politician; was born in Indiana, Nov. 8, 1844; received an academic education, and graduated from the Law School of Louisiana State University; admitted to the bar in New Orleans, June 20, 1865; was Judge of the Eighth District Court in that city, and Assistant Attorney General of Louisiana; located in S. F. in Feb., 1883; in 1885-86, he was Assistant U. S. Attorney at S. F., under Hon. S. G. Hilborn; was Assemblyman from S. F. in 1889, 1891, 1897.

Dickens Ball; in aid of the S. F. Female Hospital, was held at Union Hall, April 16, 1874.

Dickinson, John H.; prominent lawyer; State Senator, from S. F., 1880-81, State Senator from Marin and Contra Costa, 1897-99; was Colonel of the First Regiment, N. G. C., for eight years ending in 1891; Brig.-Gen'l, by appointment of Gov. Markham, 1891-94; was born in Virginia, April 8, 1849; admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of California, in April, 1873, and has since followed the profession in S. F. Established his residence in Sausalito, Marin Co., in 1893.

Dietrich, Wm. K.; who was County Recorder for the years 1880-81, was a dealer in meats in the principal markets from the Fifties down to to 1874; manager of the S. F. Packing and Provision Co., in 1874-75; U. S. Meat Inspector, 1877-78; Cashier in the Tax Collector's office, 1885-86; and has been a dealer in real estate since 1888, residing in Berkeley.

Dime Savings Bank, Cosmopolitan, failed on Dec. 18, 1877.

Dimond, Gen. Wm. H.; prominent citizen; was Park Commissioner, 1887-89; Superintendent U. S. Mint, under President Harrison, 1890-93; Gen. Dimond was born of American missionary parents in the Sandwich Islands; he died in 1896; estate was appraised Nov. 18, 1896, at $125,804, of which his 1/3 interest in the house of Williams, Dimond & Co., was valued at $26,000.

Mrs. Dimond died at S. F., Jan. 15, 1890; a notice of her, with references to the General, is in Bulletin of Jan. 16th.

Diphtheria became epidemic in S. F., in the closing days of Nov., 1876.

Directory of San Francisco; the first was issued by Chas. P. Kimball, Sept., 1850; it was a 12-mo. of 136 pages, and contained 2500 names. "See Crocker-Langley Directory."

Dividend Building on the westerly corner of Pine and Leidesdorff streets, was begun in 1877, and completed in 1878.

"Dive Ordinance;" was held to be unconstitutional by Superior Judge Wm. P. Daingerfield and seven of his associates, Feb. 18, 1880; Judges John Hunt and J. F. Sullivan disented, in an opinion published in the Bulletin, Feb. 20, 1880.

Dixon, Wm. Hepworth; distinguished English author and lecturer, visited S. F. in Dec., 1874; he delivered a lecture on the "German Empire," on Dec. 15, 1874.

Doble, Abner; prominent citizen; head of the Abner Doble Co., electrical and mechanical engineers, importers and manufacturers of iron and steel; began his long business career in S. F., as a blacksmith. He was with Thos. Nelson (N. & D., blacksmiths), 1855 to 1878; in 1878, succeeded to Nelson & Doble in their horse shoeing business and in the manufacture of cast steel tools, also in the agency for Thos. Firth & Sons, Sheffield, England; became president of the Abner Doble Co. on its organization in 1889; which company still holds the agency for Firth & Sons, for various important iron and steel inventions. Mr. D. was a member of the Board of Education, from July 19, 1864. to the end of 1865; in 1869-79 he was vice president of the Fulton Iron Works. On the 15th of March, 1897; Mr. D. was struck by a railroad locomotive at Berkeley, and was seriously injured.

Doane, Chas.; who was Sheriff for five years, (1857-61) died suddenly, of apoplexy, Oct. 7, 1862.

Doane, Micah; of Doane & Co., well-known drayman, was a member of the Board of Supervisors, 1880-81. Mr. D. was a manufacturer of hay presses in 1862; he has been in his present business since 1863; the present firm was formed in 1880.

Dodge, Henry L.; distinguished citizen; a pioneer of May 1, 1849; was secretary of the two Town Councils immediately before the city's incorporation, Aug. 6, 1849, to May 8, 1850; was a Supervisor in 1861-62; Assemblyman, 1863; State Senator, 1863-64, and 1865-66; President of the Pioneers, 1879-80; Superintendent of the U.S. Mint, from Dec., 1877, to June 18, 1881; President of the Board of Education, 1895-96. Mr. D. prepared for the bar at Burlington, Vt., and practiced law in S. F. from 1850 to 1854. He is one of the original trustees of Leland Stanford, Jr., University, named in the grant of Nov. 11, 1885; he first registered as a voter on June 7, 1866, as a native of Vt., aged 41. See Dodge, Sweeney & Co.

Dodge, Sweeney & Co. (Henry L. Dodge, Lorenzo H. Sweeney, John E. Ruggles, and F. W. Van Sicklen), wholesale provision and commission merchants; this firm was formed in 1876 by the three gentlemen first named, at 406 Front street. Messrs. Sweeney and Ruggles had been associated with John Sroufe in the same business, at the same place for five years, under the style of Sroufe, Sweeney & Co.; prior to that period, for some years, Mr. Dodge and Mr. Sroufe had conducted the business as Dodge & Sroufe at the same place. The present firm has had its large store at 114-116 Market street, running through to 11-13 California street, since 1881, in which year Mr. Van Sicklen became a partner.

Dominican Fathers, Church of, corner Bush and Steiner streets, was dedicated, June 29, 1873.

Donahue, James; brother of Peter Donahue; pioneer of April 24, 1849; died at his country residence near Santa Clara, Aug. 17, 1862.

Donahue, Jas. Mervyn; son of Peter Donahue, and son-in-law of Hon. Wm. T. Wallace, was President of the S. F. & North Pacific Coast R. R., 1887, to March 3, 1890, when he died at S. F., the place of his birth, aged 30 years and 10 months.

Donahue, Peter; a pioneer of June, 1849; President of the Pioneers, 1872-73; of Donahue, Booth & Co., foundrymen, 1863-65; President Omnibus Street R. R. Co., 1865-67; President S. F. & North Pacific Coast R. R. Co., 1870-71; President S. F. Gas Co., 1871-73; President of Gas Co., Omnibus Street R. R. Co., and State Investment Insurance Co., 1875; of two last named companies down to 1880; same and also of Sonoma Valley R. R. Co., 1881-83; presented St. Patrick's Catholic Church with a chime of bells, March 12, 1870; was born in Glasgow, Scotland, of Irish parents, Jan. 11, 1822; died at
S. F., Nov. 26, 1885; left an estate appraised at $3,798,312.

Donahue, Mrs. Annie; widow of Peter Donahue, and sister of the late ex-Gov. John G. Downey, died Dec. 12, 1896; a native of Ireland, aged 60; funeral from St. Mary's Cathedral. Mrs. D. left a vast estate. See Supplement.

Donohoe, Denis; was H. B. M. Consul for the Pacific Coast, residing at S. F., from Jan. 6, 1887 to March, 1895, when he resigned, and retired to San Rafael, where he died Dec. 11, 1896, aged 71.

Donohoe, Jr., Denis; son of the preceding; was born in Buffalo, N. Y., Sept. 19, 1861; was educated at Loyola College, Baltimore, M.D., Bishop's College, Lennoxville, Canada, University of Bonn, Germany, and Columbia College Law School, N. Y., graduating from the last named in the class of 1882; admitted to the bar in Poughkeepsie, N. Y., May 18, 1883; located in S. F. in the winter of 1888-89, and has since practiced, in partnership with T. E. K. Cormac, (C. & D.).

Donohoe, Joseph A.; influential citizen; a member of the pioneer banking house of Eugene Kelly & Co.; Donohoe, Ralston & Co., after June 1, 1861; Donohue, Kelly & Co., after July 1, 1864; was a member of the Board of Health in 1866; and a School Director in 1868, which latter office he resigned, Jan. 14, 1868.

Donohoe, Kelly & Co.; Banking house of, was established July 1, 1864.

Donohoe, Kelly & Co.'s old Bank building, S. E. corner of Montgomery and Sacramento streets, was completed in the summer of 1864; of brick and stone; cost of lot and building, $125,000.

Donohue, Ralston & Co.; Banking house of, was established June 1, 1861, and continued until July 1, 1864, when it was dissolved, Mr. Ralston having organized the Bank of California. See Mr. D.'s letter to Bulletin on March 24, 1887.

Donohoe Building; fine brick structure of seven stories, corner Market and Taylor streets, Joseph A. Donohoe, owner, was completed in 1891.

Donohoe-Kelly Banking Company was incorporated March 1, 1891; Joseph A. Donohoe, president, Joseph A. Donohoe, Jr., secretary.

Doolan, William; was Public Administrator, 1878-79.

Dom Pedro, Emperor of Brazil; arrived overland, April 25, 1876.

Donovan, M. J.; was School Director, 1871-75; and State Senator, 1875-76; 1877-78.

Dore, Maurice; old and prominent citizen; a leading auctioneer, and operator in real estate; died Oct. 3, 1895. His son, Charles, died at Auburn, of consumption, Feb. 27, 1888.

Dorn, Marcellus A.; prominent lawyer; was born in Los Angeles, Cal. Aug. 18, 1857; graduated from the University of California in 1879, and from Hastings Law College in 1882; was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court, May 31, 1882; and located in S. F. on that day; since has practiced in partnership with his younger brother, D. S. Dorn (D. & D.). This firm had the legal business of the Sheriff of S. F. (C. S. Laumeister), for four years, 1889-92. A brother of these gentlemen, Hon. N. A. Dorn, is Superior Judge of Monterey County, elected in 1892.

Dorr, L. L.; prominent physician and surgeon; was City and County Coroner for two terms, 1878-81; has been in active medical practice since 1873.

Dorr, Ralph S.; pioneer of Dec. 1, 1849; well-known broker; was President Board of Aldermen, in 1851; died Jan. 30, 1869, aged 62; a native of Mass.

Douthitt, D. Wm.; a pioneer of 1849; was born in Tenn., Sept. 28, 1828; admitted to the bar at Portland, Oregon, in 1857; was City Attorney of Portland; removed to Idaho, in 1864; to S. F., in 1868; was founder and first President of the "United Bar."

"Dow, Jr.," (Elbridge Gerry Paige); for his wretched end, see press of Dec. 5, 1859.

Dow, William A.; was born in Sutter Co., Cal., Jan. 3, 1866; educated at the High School of Oakland, and at the State University; was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court, at Sacramento, Nov. 11, 1890, and has since practiced in S. F. Resides in Oakland, where he has been a member of the City Council.

Dowling, Bartholomew; editor of the Catholic weekly, "The Monitor," died Nov. 20, 1863.

Doyle, John T.; distinguished lawyer; graduated from Georgetown College, D. C., in 1837, taking first honors; began law practice in N. Y. City, in 1842; was Superintendent of the Nicaragua Canal Co., in 1850; came to S. F., in 1851; returned to N. Y. City in 1856; to S. F. again in 1859, and has ever since been in the front rank at the bar; was a member of the Railroad Commission, or Commissioners of Transportation, 1876; of the Committee of One Hundred, in 1871. Mr. D. is a native of N. Y. City. A notice of his career forms Chapter XI of "Bench and Bar in California."

An article by Mr. D., on the Pious Fund of California, is in the Overland Monthly for Sept., 1890. A long interview with him, on the subject of Nicaragua and the Great Canal, is in the Bulletin of July 2, 1891. For his suggestions on "Printing the Public Records;" see the same paper, June 19, 1873.

Mrs. Elizabeth Pons, mother of Mrs. John T. Doyle, died at Mr. D.'s residence, at Menlo Park, Sept. 3, 1888, aged 81.

Draymen and Teamsters Union of S. F., was organized Aug. 26, 1876.

Druids, United Ancient Order of; San Francisco Grove was organized, March 27, 1864.

The Druids' Library Association was organized, July 6, 1867.

The Druids' Hall Society was incorporated, Nov. 7, 1868.

Corner stone of the Hall, on Sutter street near Stockton, was laid, Oct. 25, 1869.

Dry Dock, San Francisco; was established at Rincon Point, in 1851; Neefus & Tichenor, proprietors.

Dry Goods Men's Association of S. F., was organized, Sept. 2, 1884.

Duane, Charles P.; was Chief Engineer of the Volunteer Fire Dep't, 1853-54. It was on account of Gov. Bigler's pardon of him for an assault on one Ball, that the grand jury appeared before County Judge Campbell, on Sept. 10, 1851, and demanded to be discharged. The Judge refused their request. The fatal shooting of Col. Wm. G. Ross, with whom Duane disputed about the ownership of a piece of land, occurred on May 23, 1866; D. was tried in the 12th District Court, and acquitted on Oct. 31, 1866. In the Assembly, in 1855, D. presented a portrait of Henry Clay to that body; that was the only California Assembly which ever had a Whig speaker (W. W. Stow). On Feb. 13, 1856, Silas Selleck, a Know Nothing Assemblyman from Placer, afterwards a well-known resident of S. F., moved to have this portrait of Clay removed, as being a caricature; the motion was lost. Duane died at S. F., May 13, 1887; he was a native of Tipperary, Ireland, aged 58. A graphic account by Duane with some amusing features, of the duel between David C. Broderick and J. Caleb Smith, at Oakland, in 1852, is in Ben. Truman's "Field of Honor." Broderick's pistol was borrowed from Duane, and had been presented to the latter by John A. McGlynn, in 1850.


Will Hicks Graham and Geo. Frank Lemon fought with pistols near the barracks at Benicia, Sept. 14, 1851; seven shots were exchanged; L. was badly hurt at the last fire.

Capt. J. L. Folsom and A. C. Russell, the latter a journalist of S. F., exchanged two shots, in 1851, without harm, and a settlement followed. Russell and Gov. John McDougal exchanged shots the same year, also without damage.

Gov. McDougal and E. C. Kemble, editor of the Alta, were about to face each other in 1851, but were arrested on the field.

F. R. Wright and H. D. Evans exchanged shots without harm, when the seconds arranged a peace, in 1851.

E. B. Lundy, a Canadian, and Geo. M. Dibble, formerly a midshipman in the U. S. N., met near the city, in 1851, with pistols. Dibble was killed.

Edward Gilbert (editor of the Alta, and ex-member of Congress) and James W. Denver (Senator from Trinity Co.), fought near Sacramento City, and Gilbert was shot and killed, Aug. 2, 1852.

Will Hicks Graham and William Walker met with pistols, in 1852, and Walker was dangerously wounded. He survived, to become the most famous filibuster of the century.

John Nugent and Wm. H. Jones met with pistols, in 1852, and Jones was slightly wounded.

William Leggett and John Morrison met near the city with pistols, in 1852. Leggett was killed at the third fire.

A. C. Peachy, the eminent lawyer, wounded James Blain in a duel with pistols in 1852.

John Kelley and W. S. Spear fired at each other, three times, without effect, in 1852.

David C. Broderick and J. Caleb Smith fought in 1852, at a spot which is now the foot of Broadway, Oakland. They used navy revolvers, at ten paces. S. escaped injury, but one of his shots struck the watch in B.'s pocket, and the fragments of the watch slightly cut B.'s stomach; this was S.'s second shot, and B. received it while he was engaged in freeing the cylinder of his pistol from the exploded cap which had caught in it; both parties then emptied all their barrels, after which the seconds established peace. So many people had gone to the duelling ground from S. F., in small boats, all through the previous night, that they could not all get back the same way without great delay, and many secured horses and got home by way of San José. Chas. P. Duane's account of this duel, and of the laughable part he played in connection with it, is to be found in Ben Truman's "Field of Honor."

John Nugent, lawyer and editor, and Alderman John Cotter fought with pistols at ten paces, in 1852, in Contra Costa County; N. was severely wounded in the left thigh, at the second fire.

John Nugent, and Assistant Alderman Thos. Hayes fought with rifles at twenty paces, in 1853, and again N. was wounded at the second shot.

Alfred Crane and Edward Tobey fought with navy revolvers at ten paces near S. F., in 1853. Crane, who was the challenged party, was shot through the body, and died the next day.

Edward Rowe and Col. May met in 1853, and Rowe was wounded in the neck.

Wm. H. Scott and Peter Smith (a son of Judge Pinckney Smith of Miss.) fought with pistols at eighteen paces, in 1853.
Smith was killed at the second fire.

C. J. Wright and Oliver T. Baird met near S. F. with pistols, in 1853. B. was wounded in the neck at the second fire.

Dr. James P. Dixon, of the S. F. Marine Hospital, and Phillip F. Thomas, District Attorney of Placer Co., met with duelling pistols, at thirteen paces, three miles from Sacramento, in March, 1854. Dr. Dixon received a wound, from which he soon died.

David E. Hacker and J. S. Londen fought in 1854, and Londen was killed.

M. C. Brazer and J. W. Park fought in 1854, without result.

B. F. Washington and C. A. Washburn fought with rifles at forty paces, in 1854; Washburn was severely wounded at the second fire. He was afterwards, under the first administration of President Lincoln, Minister to Paraguay. Washington, in 1854, was editor of the Times and Transcript; he became Collector of the Port, under President Buchanan, and afterwards edited the Examiner.

Geo. T. Hunt, English, and Numa Hubert, French, both prominent lawyers, fought with pistols at the old Pioneer race course, at 5:30 A.M. May 21, 1854. Hunt, the challenged party, fell at the third fire. He called Hubert to him, and said "I forgive you." He died in 24 hours. An account of this duel and its occasion, by O. T. S., is in the Post of March 4, 1882. And see "Hubert, Numa."

Achilles Kewen, brother of E. J. C. Kewen, and Col. Woodlief, ex-County Judge of San Joaquin, had a political dispute in the Blue Wing saloon, on Montgomery street near Clay, in Nov., 1854. K. acknowledged that he had been too hasty, but W. would not accept this, and insisted on a fight. They met ten miles back of Oakland, Nov. 8th, and at the first fire, which was with Mississippi yagers, at forty paces, W. was shot in the head and killed instantly.

Austin E. Smith, a brother of Judge Smith, who had fought with Broderick, and H. B. Truett met near the city, in Oct., 1855, with Colt's revolvers, ten paces. S. was hit in the leg.

Jas. P. Withered and Capt. Frank Shaffer met with double-barrelled shot guns, loaded with buck shot, near S. F., in 1857. The formidable arms did no damage.

A. H. Rapp, editor of the French paper, Le Phare, and M. Thiele, editor of the French paper, Spectateur, fought with short swords, Jan. 27, 1858; T. was wounded in the leg.

Balie Peyton and Gregory Yale, distinguished lawyers, while on the field near Oakland, and about to exchange shots, received a letter from Francis J. Lippitt, a brother attorney, who was connected with the trouble, which brought about an immediate settlement, June 18, 1858.

Wm. I. Ferguson, lawyer and orator of first rank, State Senator from Sacramento, and Geo. Pen. Johnston, Clerk of the U. S. Circuit Court, and associate editor of the National, had a convivial altercation in the Bank Exchange saloon, Aug. 19, 1858; a duel with pistols followed an Angel Island, Aug. 21st; F.'s thigh bone was broken at fourth fire; he died at S. F., Sept. 14, 1858. For an account of the affair and Ferguson's interesting life, see "Representative Men."

Wm. I. Ferguson's last moments; his noble nature; a pathetic recital; see Sacramento "Union," Sept. 17, 1858, page 2.

David C. Broderick, U. S. Senator, and David S. Terry, Justice of the Supreme Court, fought with pistols, near Lake Merced, S. F., Sept. 13, 1859; B. fell at the first fire, and died Sept. 16th. For a graphic account by an eye witness, see "Bench and Bar."

Chas. W. Piercy, of San Bernardino, and Daniel Showalter of Mariposa, both members of the Assembly, fought in Marin Co. with rifles, and Piercy was killed, May 25,1861.

Frank Turk and O. C. Hall, lawyers, exchanged shots, then "made up," June 1, 1862.

For correspondence looking to a duel, between Hon. Wm. W. Porter and Hon. H. G. Worthington—Wm. Governeur Morris and James E. Nuttman, representing W., and Jas. F. Quin and David S. Terry, representing P.—See local papers, June 23, 24, 1861.

A German and a Pole fought in the dark, with revolvers, at 12 paces, at 7 o'clock, P. M., Nov. 28, 1866; neither was hurt.

James R. Smedberg and F. W. Gardner fought at Sausalito with duelling pistols in Aug., 1869; S. was wounded in the hand at the second fire. His second was Col. Stuart M. Taylor; while Howard Crittenden attended Gardener. In this, one of the latest, if not the very latest duel in California, both parties displayed great nerve.

Paul Zacchi and one Ives met near Ocean House, Jan. 19, 1875; Z. instead of aiming at his adversary, tried to kill himself. Both parties survived.

Major Ben C. Truman, in his "Field of Honor," issued in 1884, declares that there have been more fatal duels in California than in all of the Northern States; and that between the years of 1850 and 1860, more fatal encounters took place in this State than elsewhere in the Union in any ten years' period.

In the foregoing record, duels occurring in the interior are not noticed except where one or both participants belonged to San Francisco.

Baker's eloquent protest against the "Code of Honor," was uttered in his oration at the burial of Broderick, Sept. 18, 1859. (This noble oration is in "Representative Men of the Pacific.")

Dufferin, Earl, Gov.-Gen'l of Canada, arrived Aug. 8, 1876.

Duhring, Frederick T.; was born in Sonoma, Cal., Sept. 2, 1862; was educated in the public schools, the Napa Collegiate Institute, and the State University; and was admitted to the bar at S. F., Aug. 5, 1890.

Dun, R. G. & Co.'s, Mercantile Agency; S. F. branch was established in 1869, the office being at 224 Sansome street, under the management of James A. Dun. The firm composing the Agency was made up of R. Graham Dun, Charles Barlow, M. B. Smith and Erastus Wiman, all residing in N. Y. Mr. Jay Lugsdin has been manager of the S. F. office ever since 1870.

For the Bradstreet Co. Mercantile Agency, see Supplement.

Duncan, Joseph C.; his bank, the "Pioneer Land and Loan Bank of Savings and Deposits" failed, causing widespread distress, Oct. 7, 1877; Duncan went into hiding, and was suprised and captured at night by Capt. Lees, in the building 509 Kearny street, Feb. 24, 1878; he was indicted on ten charges of forgery, embezzlement, and grand larceny; was released on bail in $61,500, Aug. 14, 1880; the first of his abortive trials began in the Municipal Criminal Court, Dec. 16, 1878; the evidence being insufficient to convict, the last of the charges was dismissed on motion of the District Attorney, Jan. 6, 1882.

Dundon, P. F.; proprietor of the S. F. Iron Works (before 1894, the S. F. Boiler Works), of Dundon's patent compound marine boilers, was a member of the Board of Supervisors, 1893-94. He is a boiler maker by trade, and was foreman for Moynihan & Aitken from 1877 to 1883, when he went into the business for himself.

Dunlevy, Andrew J.; veteran police officer; was dangerously stabbed by Frank Schwartz, Sept.17, 1871. This officer has been on the force since 1868, when he was aged 42; his previous occupation was that of a ship carpenter; he is a native of Ireland.

Dunphy, William; a pioneer of Dec. 27, 1849; a great cattle raiser and dealer for thirty years.

See the peculiar case of Nichols vs. Dunphy, 53rd. vol. California Reports, page 654. A daughter of D. married Samuel W. Piercy, the actor; another married Noah F. Flood, lawyer.

Dunn, John P.; was Auditor of the City and County, appointed to fill a vacancy in Nov., 1879, and elected for the years 1880-81, on the Workingmen's ticket; was State Controller for two terms, Jan., 1883 to Jan. 5, 1891; Secretary of the Citizens' Defense Association at S. F., in 1892-93; Register of the U. S. Land office at S. F., in 1895-97.

Dunn, Thos. F.; who has been Assistant District Attorney under Hon. Wm. S. Barnes since 1893; was born in Buffalo, N. Y., May 22, 1871; came to S. F. in 1876; educated at St. Ignatius College, S. F.; admitted to the bar of the State Supreme Court, Oct. 10, 1892.

Dunn, Horace D.; an old and respected citizen; now and since 1890, an expert accountant, was a commission merchant in early days; a reporter for the Bulletin in 1863-64; State Commissioner of Immigration, 1866-70; acting Consul for Japan, 1873-74; a member of the Board of Education, and Chairman of the judiciary committee in 1882 (term was then one year). He is author of an elaborate essay on the agricultural resources of this State, written for the U.S. Commissioners of Agriculture, and copied in appendix 3 to the legislative journals, 1867-68, and commended in the preface to that vol.; also author of an article on the introduction of lobsters in S. F. Bay—Bulletin, March 29, 1882; an article on rice culture, in same paper, Sept. 27, 1890; and many other writings of general interest. Mr. D. registered June 1, 1866, as a reporter, born in N. Y., aged 36.

Dunne, Joseph J.; well-known lawyer; was a Justice of the Peace in the years, 1883-84; Assistant District Attorney, 1887-88; and Prosecuting Attorney Police Court No. 1, 1889-90.

Dunne, Peter F.; an advocate noted for his polished and logical addresses to Court and jury, grew up in S. F., graduated from the Hastings Law College, and was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court in 1882; he practiced alone until 1889, when the present law firm of Dunne & McPike was formed (Peter F. Dunne, Henry C. McPike and Joseph J. Dunne, the last named withdrawing in 1894).

Dupont Street Widening; Dupont street was widened from Market to Bush streets to a uniform width of seventy-four feet, under Act of legislature of March 23rd, 1876; litigation began in 1879, in the name of Wm. M. Lent et al. vs. Tillson, Tax Collector, to have the assessment of real estate under the Act declared void; the U. S. Supreme Court decided in favor of the validity of the Act and affirmed the proceedings and assessment under it, on May 11, 1892; but thereafter other suits were instituted and are not yet determined. But the street was actually widened from Market to Bush streets as called for by the Act, the work being completed in 1886. On July, 31, 1886, the name of that portion of the street was changed to Grant Avenue by the Board of Supervisors. (Order No. 1872.)

"Dupont Street Frauds;" see local papers, June 13th and Sept. 28, 1882, and intermediate dates.

Durant, Henry; President of the University of California, and who selected the site at Berkeley, died Aug. 16, 1870.

Durkee, John L.; was Fire Marshal of the Board of Underwriters from May 26, 1864 until Oct. 15, 1886, when he was retired on a life pension of $100 per month. He wrote an article, in Bulletin, July 17, 1888, giving a history of the bells of his old Engine Co., Monumental, No. 6. He died Jan. 29, 1897; a native of Baltimore, Md., aged 69; his funeral was from St. Bridget's Catholic Church.

Durrant, Wm. H. T.; a student at Cooper Medical College, aged 24, residing with his parents on Fair Oaks street, was tried for the murder of Blanche Lamont, a school girl, aged 21, in 1895, the trial beginning on July 22nd, and ending on Nov. 1st, 1895, when he was convicted of murder in the first degree, in Judge D. J. Murphy's Department of the Superior Court; sentence to death was passed on Dec. 7th. Blanche Lamont disappeared on April 3, 1895; her body was found in the belfry of Emmanuel Baptist Church, April 14, 1895. On April 12, 1895, Miss Minnie Williams was killed in the same church, and Durrant was also indicted for her murder. The appeal of the accused, from the judgment of condemnation for the murder of Blanche Lamont, was submitted to the Supreme Court on Oct. 21, 1896. The points and authorities were filed Dec. 7, 1896. On March 3, 1897, the Supreme Court, in an opinion written by Justice Henshaw, and signed by all the Justices except Chief Justice Beatty, who gave no expression, affirmed the judgment of guilty. See Supplement.

Durst, John H.; was City and County Attorney, Election Commissioner, and City Hall Commissioner in 1891-92; was born in Sacramento. He located and began law practice in S. F., in 1884. The firm of Nygh, Fairweather & Durst, was formed in 1885, Mr. D. withdrawing after two years.

Dutch, William; distinguished dentist; died by his own hand by hanging, in his office, Oct. 24, 1887.

Dutton, Henry; long established hay dealer; influential member of the Produce Exchange, died Dec 4, 1887; was President of the Farmers and Mechanics Bank of Savings, from 1868 until the bank went into liquidation in 1880.

Dutton, Wm. J.; son of the preceding; after a long period of service as Secretary of the Fireman's Fund Insurance Co., became vice President of the company in 1890; and in 1895, President of the Home Mutual Insurance Co. He was born in Maine, Jan. 23, 1847, and came to S. F. in 1853.

Dutton, Warren; prominent citizen; a pioneer of Aug. 1, 1849. See "Dairymen's Union."

Dwinelle, John W.; distinguished lawyer; a pioneer of Oct., 1849; was mysteriously drowned at Port Costa, Jan. 28, 1881. On Feb. 1, 1850, his name led the petition of a number of S. F. lawyers, praying the legislature to retain the Civil Law in its substantial elements, as proposed by Gov. Burnett in his first message, in preference to adopting the English Common Law. Among many able public addresses, perhaps the most interesting was that which he delivered at the laying of the corner stone of the New City Hall, Dec. 28, 1871. For his "Judicial Trial of Jesus," see Bulletin, March 6, 1877. He made his home in Oakland and represented Alameda County in the Assembly, 1867-68. He was a native of N. Y., and attained the age of 62.

Dwinelle, Samuel H.; brother of the preceding, was Judge of the Fifteenth District Court, for S. F. and Contra Costa, from the organization of the Court in 1864, until it ceased to exist, at the close of 1879. He died suddenly, of apoplexy, Jan. 12, 1866, aged 61 years and 11 months; a native of N. Y.


Eagle Block, N. W. corner Pine and Davis streets, was built for A. B. McCreary, at a cost of $160,000; the work was begun in Jan., 1882, and completed in May, same year.


there were 21 shocks at the Presidio between June 21st and July 17, 1808.

The shock of Jan. 16, 1856 was the severest up to that time, since the American occupation; it occurred in the latter part of the night, and was announced by a loud report, like a steam boiler explosion.

Three severe shocks occurred on Feb. 26, 1864.

There were several severe shocks on May 20, 1864.

A severe shock occurred at 3 o'clock A. M., May 24, 1865, which extended some distance down the coast.

A shock which shattered the walls of many buildings and did great damage, occurred on Sunday, Oct. 8, 1865; it was felt over a wide area, brick buildings being injured in Santa Cruz, San Jose and other towns; there were two shocks the next day, which did no damage.

There were two severe shocks at 12:20 P. M., March 26, 1866.

A severe shock on May 30, 1866.

Quite a severe shock was felt at 11:30 A. M., March 24, 1868.

The most violent earthquake experienced in the City and State since the American settlement of the country, occurred at 7:54 A. M., Oct. 21, 1868. The first and heavier shock was felt for about forty-five seconds, and was followed by others of shorter duration during the day. Several persons were killed by falling walls, and others were seriously injured. Three or four buildings were thrown down, and a large number were badly damaged. The loss in property was estimated at half a million dollars.

Easterby, Capt. A. Y.; who is said to have landed at S. F. on Christmas Day, 1848, but who, according to the Pioneer records, arrived on Jan. 10, 1849; died at Napa, in June, 1893. A valuable article on the compass in relation to iron ships, giving his experiments in the Levant, is in the Bulletin of Aug. 2, 1890.

Eastern Star, Order of; the Grand Chapter was organized May 9, 1873; the first Subordinate Chapter, was instituted on May 9, 1869.

Eastland, Joseph G.; influential and wealthy citizen; secretary of the S. F. Gas Co., 1855 to 1878; New City Hall Commissioner, 1870-74; President of the Pioneers, two terms, 1880-82; Trustee of the Beideman Life Trust, which he resigned March 5, 1888; President S. F. High License Association, 1892; arrived in California, Dec. 1, 1849; died in 1895, a native of Tenn., aged 63.

Eastland, Major Thos. B.; Mexican war verteran, and a pioneer of Nov., 1849; died Nov. 11, 1864, aged 58.

Easton, Oliver W.; father of Wendell and George Easton, died on Nov. 6, 1881; a native of Mass., aged 66.

Easton, Wendell; founder of the real estate firm of Easton, Eldridge & Co.; was bookkeeper for Madison & Burke, 1867-72; bookkeeper of the Crown Point Mining Co., 1874; mining secretary, 1875-77; of Easton & De Forest, real estate, 1878; continued that business alone, under the style of Easton & Co., 1879-80. Established the house of Easton & Eldridge, with J. O. Eldridge, in 1881—real estate agenets and auctioneers; on the death of Mr. Eldridge, Feb. 26, 1885, Mr. Easton continued the business without change of style until 1887, when the house of Easton, Eldridge & Co., was incorporated, with Mr. E. as President, Geo. W. Frink, Vice President, Frank B. Wilde, Secretary, and the Anglo-Californian Bank treasurer. In 1892, Mr. Geo. Easton succeeded Mr. Wilde as secretary, at the same time continuing as head of the insurance firm of Geo. Easton & Co. In 1894, Geo. Easton became Vice President retaining for a year the secretaryship. In 1895, he was succeeded as secretary by Geo. D. Easton; and he also retired from his other house (insurance). In 1894-95, Wendell Easton, in addition to the presidency of this corporation (E. E. & Co.) was President of the Pacific Coast Savings Society, and of the Metropolitan Railway Co.

Mr. Wendell Easton was the Republican candidate for Mayor in 1894. He registered as a voter, June 12, 1896, as born in Mass., aged 48.

Easton, Eldridge & Co., see "Easton, Wendell."

Ebbetts, A. M.; a pioneer of Aug. 5, 1849; County Recorder in 1861; Supervisor in 1874-75; proprietor of the Merchants Coal Yard since 1867; Mr. Ebbets was born in N.Y. City, on Jan. 18, 1830; during all the exciting history of the City since its earliest days his residence has serenely stood on the commanding site, at the N. W. corner of Jones and Washington Streets, and there it stands still, a most remarkable illustration of conservatism in residence.

"Echo du Pacifique," daily French newspaper, was established in June, 1852.

Eclipse of the Sun, partial, occurred May 5, 1864.

Eclipse of the Sun, partial occurred Aug. 7, 1869; lasted two hours.

"Eco del Pacifico," daily Spanish newspaper, was established in June, 1852.

Egerton, Henry; lawyer and distinguished orator; was excelled as a public speaker only by E. D. Baker and Thos. Fitch; born in Vt., in 1830; came to Cal. In 1853; was State Senator from Napa, Solano and Yolo, 1860-61; same from Sacramento, 1873-74; 1875-76; was author of the Broderick Expunging Resolutions, Jan. 19, 1861; one of the three counsel for the State in the impeachment of Judge Jas. H. Hardy, May, 1862; resided in S. F. at different times, for short periods; died at S. F. suddenly, while on a visit, in a lawyer's office, Nov. 4, 1887.

Edwards, Henry; versatile actor, and entomologist; made his home in S. F. from 1868 to 1879; in 1868-69, was lessee and manager of the Metropolitan Theater; President of the Bohemian Club, and a director of the Art Association, 1873-74; made the presentation speech on behalf of Miss Lotta Crabtree, when the Lotta Fountain was formally delivered to the City, Sept. 9, 1875; was author of a work on "Butterflies of the Pacific Coast;" his private collection of insects numbered over 60,000 specimens, estimated to be worth $20,000. He was born in England in 1830; left California in 1879; died many years ago. A notice of his career is in the Post of Jan. 3, 1874.

Edwin, Sophie; a favorite emotional actress, wife of Wm. Stevenson, deputy County Clerk, who had been treasurer of Maguire's Opera House, where the actress became popular, died March 7, 1876.

Eells, Alex. G.; was born in Dayton, O., March 18, 1862, graduated from the University of California in 1886, and was admitted to the bar at S. F., in 1888.

Eells, James D. D.; distinguished Presbyterian divine, who had the pastorate of the First Presbyterian church in S. F., 1867-69, died in Cincinnati, Ohio, March 9, 1886, in his 64th year, being then a professor in Lane Theological Seminary.

An editorial notice of him is in the Bulletin of March 10, 1886, Dr. Eells was father of the well-known lawyer, Chas. P. Eells and Mrs. Horatio Livermore.

Eells, Chas. P.; son of the preceding; was born in N. Y., May 18, 1854; educated at the City College, S. F., the Oakland College, Poughkeepsie Military Academy, N. Y., and Hamilton College, Clinton, N. Y.; was admitted to the bar at Sacramento, April 11, 1877, and began practice at S. F. in 1879.

Eggers, Geo. H.; wholesale grocer; a pioneer of Aug. 14, 1849; was a member of the great Vigilance Committee of 1856; one of the founders of the German Savings Bank; a leading spirit in St. Mark's Lutheran Church; President of the Eggers Vineyard Co.; died May 22, 1896; a native of Hanover, aged 76; Masonic burial.

Eickhoff, Henry; well-known lawyer; was born in N. Y.; graduated from Columbia Law School; located and began law practice in S. F., in 1875.

"Elaine," Rosenthal's great picture, was cut from its frame and stolen, April 2, 1875. It was recovered, and six men were arrested for the theft, April 4, 1875. One of the thieves was sentenced to eight years in the State prison, May 29, 1875.

El Dorado County Pioneers, Society of, was organized Nov. 12, 1870.

Eldridge, J. O.; prominent auctioneer, one of the founders of the real estate house of Easton, Eldridge & Co., died Feb. 26, 1885; a native of Mass., aged 56. Some twenty years prior to his death, Mr. E. in the line of auctioneer, had the habit of slapping his leg with his hand as he announced a piece of property "sold." A disease of the bone was thus contracted, which necessitated the amputation of the leg.

Elks, California; 20 stags safely reached King Victor Emanuel, the gift of Californians, May 1, 1864; the whole cost $600.

Elks, Benevolent and Protective Order of, was organized April 11, 1876.

Ellinwood, Chas.; eminent physician and surgeon; was surgeon of the City and County Hospital since 1890, and Professor of Physiology in Cooper Medical College, since 1889; holding such professorship also in 1886-87; President U. S. Board of Pension Surgeons, 1884-85; surgeon and physician for the German Hospital, 1881-83; surgeon of the U. S. Marine Hospital, 1872-80; Professor of Physiology, Medical Dep't, University of the Pacific, 1872-73; began medical practice in S. F., in 1868. He registered on July 4, 1896, as born in Vt., aged 60.

Ellis, John S.; was Sheriff in 1862-63; resigned the office, May 2, 1864. He belonged to a distinguished N. Y. family, and returned to that State in 1864, and died there in 1896. His sister is the wife of Gen. John Hewston, Jr. His mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Van Horn Ellis, died at Gen. Hewston's county seat in Alameda County, in 1896, at the age of 92.

Ellis Land Case, affecting property worth over $4,000,000; trial opened in the Fourth District Court, Jan. 23, 1877; it ended with judgment for the defendants, Jan. 26, 1877.

"El Primero;" the first steam steel yacht built on the Pacific Coast, appeared on the bay, in July, 1893, built by the Union Iron Works for E. W. Hopkins. Dimensions: length over all, 137 feet; beam, 18 feet; depth, 8 feet 6 inches; mean draft, 4 feet 8 inches; registered tonnage, gross, 102.99 tons; net, 73.48; displacement, 70 tons. Picture in Californian Magazine, Oct., 1893.

Ellsworth, Oliver; has been at the S. F. bar since June 24, 1891, when he entered the profession; he is a graduate of the University of California, and of Hastings Law College; was born at Mission San José, Alameda Co., April 7, 1867.

Emeric, Joseph; pioneer of Dec. 29, 1849; on July 16, 1870, during the Franco-Prussian war, Mr. E. offered $500, to the French soldier who should be first to capture a Prussian flag; died June 22, 1889; native of France, aged 73; left a large estate.

Emeric, Henry F.; only son of the preceding; represented Contra Costa in the Assembly in 1893; registered July 17, 1871, as born in N. Y., aged 23.

Emmet, Christopher Temple; pioneer of 1849; distinguished lawyer; a grand nephew of Robert Emmet, the Irish patriot; was born in N. Y. City, in 1823; graduated as a physician and surgeon from the University of Va.; was admitted to the bar in N. Y.; practiced in S. F., from 1849 until 1867, when he left the profession with a fortune of a million dollars, and went into the California and Oregon Railway project of Ben. Holladay, in which he lost all; resumed practice in 1873; died in N. Y., and was buried on his place, comprising 60 acres, near San Rafael, Feb. 27, 1884; a most interesting character; see sketch by O. T. S. in Bulletin, Feb. 28, 1884.

Emmet, Robert; the centennial of his birth was celebrated by overflowing houses in Metropolitan Temple and Pacific Hall, March 4, 1878.

Engine Companies No. 1 and No. 5, of the old volunteer Fire Department, was disbanded by order of the Board of Supervisors, upon complaint of Chief Engineer F. E. R. Whitney, for disobedience of his order at a fire, May 11, 1858; the companies were reinstated under a decision of Judge Norton, of the 12th District Court, May 29, 1858.

Enos, John S.; lawyer and eloquent speaker; State Senator, 1880-81; nominee of the Workingmen for Congress in 1882; withdrew in the middle of the campaign in favor of Gen. Rosecrans, Democrat, who was elected; was Commissioner of the State Bureau of Labor Statistics, 1883-86.

Ensign, George H.; who figured so prominently in the early history of the City's water supply, died at Stockton, Oct. 2, 1871.

Eoff, James L.; noted horse jockey; died Aug. 2, 1885, a native of N. J., aged 67. In a dispute about a horse race, E. shot and killed Wm. D. Chapman, in the Pony Saloon, Kearny street, Jan. 17, 1863; he was tried in the 12th District Court, and acquitted, May 1, 1863.

Epizootic, or Epizôôty, The; made its first appearance in S. F. on April 16, 1873; on April 25th, it prevailed to such an extent as to seriously interfere with business and almost suspend car travel. Wells, Fargo & Co. used oxen in their freight wagons. The disease reappeared, in a milder form in Nov., 1875.

Epworth League Alliance wes organized in May, 1893.

Escambia, British iron steamship, foundered on the bar, after passing out of the harbor, June 19, 1882. The Escambia Wrecking Co., was organized and incorporated July 15, 1882.

Estee, M. M.; distinguished lawyer; represented Sacramento to the Assembly, 1863; District Attorney of that County, 1864-65; represented S. F. in the Assembly, and was Speaker thereof, Dec. 1, 1873 to March 30, 1874; was the Republican caucus nominee for the U. S. Senate, when Farley, Democrat, was chosen, Dec. 19, 1877; candidate for Governor in 1882, when Gen. Stoneman was elected, and same in 1894, against Gov. Budd; President of the Republican National Convention in 1888; Member of the Pan American Congress in 1889-90; came to California in 1853; was admitted to the bar at Sacramento in 1860; removed to S. F. in 1866; born in Penn., Nov. 23, 1833; sketch in Bancroft's "Contemporary Biography."

Eugene Kelly & Co.; see Donohoe, Jos. A.

Eureka Typographical Union (No. 21 of the National Union), was organized Nov. 20, 1854; was admitted into the National Union, May 7, 1855.

Evans, Oliver P.; prominent lawyer; Judge of the Superior Court, Jan., 1880 to Aug. 1, 1883, when he resigned, to resume law practice; registered July 10, 1896, as born in Va., aged 54; located and began practice in S. F. in 1868; was in partnership with the eminent jurist, John Currey, from the time the latter left the Supreme bench to his, Judge C.'s, retirement from practice on the first of Jan., 1878, a period of eight years.

Examiner Newspaper; was established as an evening daily by Capt. Wm. S. Moss, of Stockton, on June 12, 1865. Philip A. Roach, and Chas. L. Weller purchased interests the following year; W. withdrew and Geo. Pen. Johnston and James Porter bought interests, in 1869.

The old paper was sold in Oct., 1880, to W. T. Baggett & Co., who converted it into a morning daily; it was shortly transferred to the Examiner Publishing Co., composed of Hon. Geo. Hearst. W. R. Hearst became the owner on March 4, 1887.

Exempt Fire Company was organized Dec. 8, 1862, under the Act of the legislature, approved March 26, 1857, for social intercourse and mutual benefit; it was reorganized April 15, 1872, under Act of March 14, 1872.


A large tank in the California Sugar Refinery burst Jan. 6, 1859, shattering the building, and killing an employe named

An explosion on the steamboat Diana, off Vallejo Street wharf, Dec. 27, 1860, fatally injured Wm. Shaw,the engineer and Thos. Johnson, a hand.

Boiler of engine of the National Flouring Mills, at Market and Sansome streets, burst on Oct. 25, 1862, fatally injuring four men.

The steamer Washoe burst her boiler 40 miles below Sacramento Sept. 6, 1864; 100 persons were killed.

The steamboat Sophie McLane blew up at Suisun, Oct. 26, 1864, killing Capt. Geo. Folger, pilot, Chas. Yates, 2nd engineer, Wm. Lawler, deckhand, and Henry P. Hulbert.

The steamboat Yosemite exploded her boiler at Rio Vista, blowing off the entire forward portion of the boat, Oct. 13, 1865; a large number of persons were killed and wounded.

A terrible explosion of a case of nitro-glycerine occurred on April 16, 1866, in the yard adjoining Wells, Fargo & Co.'s Express office, then located in the stone building at the northwest corner of Montgomery and California streets. Several persons were killed, among them being Samuel Knight, Sup't of W., F. & Co., and G. W. Bell, assayer and member of the Board of Supervisors. Thirteen deaths resulted, the last, that of Miss Emily Treadwell, occurring at Santa Rosa, on July 1, 1866.

The steam drum of the steamer Julia burst at Broadway wharf, Sept. 29, 1866, killing four of the hands.

An explosion of gas at the (old) St. Nicholas Hotel severely wounded three men, Jan. 6, 1869.

An explosion and fire occurred at the Giant Powder Works west of the cemeteries, Nov. 26, 1869, which totally destroyed the Works, and killed ten Chinese workmen.

An explosion at the Giant Powder Words on July 9, 1870, killed the Sup't, John Harry.

An explosion at the Giant Powder Works on June 21, 1872, did much damage.

An explosion of gasoline, at the warehouse of Whittier, Fuller & Co., did considerable damage, April 4, 1872.

Explosion of gas from the street main on Mission street, seriously injured three men, June 27, 1872.

Explosion of gas on Harrison Street Wharf, April 7, 1875, caused the loss of four lives and the destruction of Hathaway's
warehouse and other buildings.

Explosion at the Bay View Distillery occurred Sept. 26, 1874, killing one workman.

Explosion of giant powder on the Potrero occurred Aug. 15, 1877.

Exposition, California International Midwinter, was formally opened in Golden Gate Park ("Sunset City"), S. F., Jan 27, 1894.


Fabbri Opera Troupe produced the opera of Joseph in Egypt, at Wade's Opera House, on Feb. 6, 1876.

Fabbri, Prof. Mulder; long connected with the musical profession; died Dec. 22, 1874, aged 52.

Fabens, F. A.; well-known lawyer, who had been in partnership with F. P. Tracy (F. & T.) in 1858-59, died suddenly at Sausalito, while holding the office of Justice of the Peace at S. F., June 16, 1872, aged 58.

Fair, James G.; pioneer of Sept. 3, 1849; was U. S. Senator from Nevada, March 4, 1881 to March 4, 1887; became President of the Nevada Bank of S. F., Sept. 13, 1887, in place of James C. Flood, resigned; fixed his residence at S. F. in 1887; sold the South Pacific Coast R. R. to the S. P. Co., in March 1887; bought the Lick House of the Lick trustees for $1,250,000, Oct. 5, 1888; invested about $1,000,000 in lots and erection of buildings on the water front, north of Clay street, 1889-90; awarded to Warren and Malley contract for $300,000, for grading many blocks of land at the North End, between Webster and Baker streets, June 23, 1893. Mr. Fair died at the Lick House, which was one of his possessions, on Dec. 29, 1894; his estate, believed to be worth at least $25,000,000, had not been appraised when this volume was printed. The final account of the special administrators was filed Dec. 9, 1896, giving the value of his estate as $16,633,455. For Mr. Fair's views on Adolph Sutro, the Sutro Tunnel, and the Silver question, see Bulletin, March 12, 1893, page 4.

Mr. Fair bought of O F. Giffen the two fifty-vara lots, N. W. Pine and Jones street, with the fine mansions and furniture, for $130,000, Feb. 2, 1879.

Fair, Mrs. Theresa; the estate left by her and accounted for by her executors, Jno. W. Mackay and R. V. Dey, in their final account, July 13, 1893, was $5,096,646.

Fair, Mrs. Laura D.; appeared at the Metropolitian Theater at Sacramento, as Lady Teazle, in School for Scandal, March 5, 1863; had a fine reception at the Metropolitan Theater, S. F., March 13, 1863; shot the distinguished lawyer, A. P. Crittenden, on the Oakland ferry boat, Nov. 3, 1870; her trial on an indictment for murder, was begun in the 15th District Court, Hon. S. H. Dwinelle presiding, March 27, 1871; a verdict of murder in the first degree was rendered on the 26th day of the trial; on June 3, the defendant was sentenced to be hung on July 28, 1871; she appealed, was granted a new trial, and was tried a second time in the same Court, Hon. Thos B. Reardon, of the 14th District, Nevada and Placer Counties, presiding in place of Judge Dwinelle; a verdict of not guilty was rendered, Sept. 30, 1872, and she was discharged.

Fair, Wm. D.; prominent lawyer; a pioneer of June 22, 1849; State Senator from San Joaquin Co. at the first session, 1849-50; removed to S. F., and died by his own hand, in his office, Dec. 27, 1861. Was the husband of Laura D. Fair. Col. Fair was a good lawyer, and a man of splendid presence, a native of Va; graduate of West Point; and was for some years an army officer. He married Mrs. Fair, who was then Mrs. Grayson, at Shasta, Cal., in 1859.

Fairchild, John; scenic artist; died Feb. 9, 1862.

Falkner, Bell & Co.; commission merchants and insurance agents, were established in 1852.

Fallon, Thomas; a pioneer of March 8, 1844; died Oct. 25, 1885, a native of Ireland, aged 67; left an estate worth $200,000.

Farmers and Mechanics Bank of Savings was ordered into liquidation by the Bank Commissioneers, Sept. 3, 1878.

Farnsworth, Dr. A. A.; died by his own hand, April 15, 1874.

Farquharson, David; eminent architect; President of the California Savings and Loan Society, and of the Visitation Water Co.; was architect for the College of Letters and the College of Agriculture, University buildings at Berkeley, in 1872-74; was defeated by I. S. Kalloch for Mayor, in 1879; began his prosperous professional career in S. F., in 1862; registered June 30, 1866, as born in Scotland, aged 39.

Farren, John W.; who was a Supervisor in 1878-79, and who died in March, 1896, was one of the carriage making firm of Clapp and Farren, which began business on Jan. 1, 1853; the style of the firm was changed to Farren & Eaton, May 1, 1856.

Farwell, J. D.; organized the Pacific Cordage Co., in 1877; arrived at S. F. in the spring of 1850, and engaged extensively in ship chandlery; he was a member of the Vigilance Committees of 1851 and 1856, and Vice President of the last; died at Haywards, Nov. 19, 1887; a native of Me., aged 72.

Farwell, Willard B.; pioneer of July 6, 1849; Assemblyman in 1855; edited the Alta in 1858-59; President of the Pioneers, in 1863-64; Naval Officer under President Lincoln, 1861-65; Supervisor, 1885-86. Mr. F. delivered the annual oration before the Society of California Pioneers, Sept. 9, 1859. He is a native of Mass.

Farallone Islands were discovered by Bartolome Ferrelo, a Portuguese navigator in the service of Spain, in 1543; they were first specially mentioned by Sir Francis Drake, in 1579; these island are composed of three groups; the middle is a single rock; the northerly is made up of five rocks; the southerly, the largest, is two miles around, has the lighthouse, and is 29 miles west of the Golden Gate.

Fassett, J. F.; has been at the S. F. bar since Sept., 1882; he was born in Wyoming Co., Pa., March 15, 1856; was educated at the University of Iowa, and admitted to the bar in Des Moines, in that State, July 20, 1882.

"Fast Mail Train," from N. Y. City, arrived June 4, 1876, with Jarrett & Palmer's theatrical company, and guests; time across the continent 84 hours, lacking a few seconds.

Fatal Leaps:

Martin, a Frenchman, insane from drink, leaped from the roof of the Exchange Building on Battery street, opposite the P. O., Jan. 16, 1859.

A fatal leap from the balustrade of the interior Court of the old City Hall, upon the brick pavement below was made by Joel White, insane, aged 21, April 25, 1859.

Madame Augustine Simeon, proprietress of the Hotel de la Fraternité, at No. 225 Kearny street, leaped from the roof of an adjoining two-story building to the ground, and died in a few hours, July 18, 1863.

Andrew Bohn, an aged Frenchman, jumped from the roof of a four-story building at the corner of Fourth and Howard streets, on the afternoon of March 27, 1897, and was picked up a moment later, dead and frightfully mangled.

Fell, Edward L.; an enterprising builder and street contractor, after whom Fell street was named, died of typhus fever, Dec. 4, 1864.

Felton, Chas. N.; pioneer of Sept., 1849; Assemblyman from San Mateo Co., 1880-81; Member of the lower house of Congress, two terms, March 4, 1885-March 4, 1889; U. S. Senator, elected March 19, 1891,  in place of George Hearst, deceased; term ended March 4, 1893.

Felton, John B.; distinguished lawyer, whose professional career began and ended in S. F.; was born in Mass., in 1827; died at Oakland, Cal., May 2, 1877; delivered the oration at the dedication of the Mercantile Library building on Bush street, June 18, 1868. His interesting life is the subject of the Third Chapter of "Bench and Bar in California."

Female Dress; a Convention of 150 women assembled to consider the question of reform in woman's attire, April 6, 1874.

Ferguson, Clement; for his contribution to the history of California, see State Register for 1859.

Ferral, Robert; prominent lawyer; a journalist's son, and himself a journalist for many years before and after his admission to the bar, which took place at Aurora, Nev., in 1863; he located in S. F., first in June, 1852; was Chief Clerk of the Assembly, 1869-70; Secretary of the Senate, 1871-72; Chief Clerk of the Assembly again, 1875-76; Assistant District Attorney of S. F., 1874-75; Judge of the City Criminal Court, 1876-79; and Judge of the Superior Court, 1880-84. He was born in Philadelphia, on Oct. 13, 1841.

Fidelity Bank closed its doors on Nov. 12, 1877.

Field, Stephen J.; distinguished jurist; Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States since March 16, 1863, was appointed from California; arrived at S. F., Dec. 28, 1849; opened a law office, but within three weeks removed to Marysville. His long career is the subject of a thrilling chapter in "Bench and Bar," 1889; he was since assaulted by ex-Supreme Judge David S. Terry, in the dining hall of the railroad station at Lathrop, Cal., and his assistant was immediately shot and killed by David Neagle, U. S. Deputy Marshal, Aug. 14, 1889. Judge F. delivered the address at the Centennial of the Federal Judiciary at N. Y. City, Feb. 4, 1890.

Fifield, Wm. H.; prominent and industrious lawyer, of Boyd and Fifield (1889-91, Cope, Boyd & Fifield), was born in Mich., Feb. 8, 1843; and is a graduate of the Michigan State University, of the class of 1865; was admitted to the bar in that State in 1866, and has followed the profession in S. F. since Oct., 1868.

Filibusters; 240 in number sailed from S. F. in the bark Anita, to join Gen. Wm. Walker in Lower California, Dec. 13, 1853.

Findla, James; wealthy citizen; a pioneer of Oct. 1, 1847; sold to Thos. H. Blythe in 1850-51, the Market and Geary streets lots which made B. a millionaire; kept a coal yard at N. E. Pine and Battery streets until 1863; registered as a voter, Oct. 13, 1869, as born in Scotland, aged 57, and naturalized in Lafayette Co., Mo., in 1843; he died in France in 1895.

Mrs. Findla died in Paris, France, April 23, 1887, aged 75.

Finn, John F.; Superior Judge from Jan., 1880 to Jan., 1893, was elected three times—1879, drawing a short term ending in Jan., 1881; in 1888, for a full term of six years; and again in 1886, for a full term. The proceedings in the great Blythe estate and in the Sharon divorce case were begun before him, but were soon transferred to other departments of the Suprerior Court; he was defeated on the Republican ticket for Justice of the Peace, in 1869, and was Attorney for Public Administrator Quarles in 1867-68, and a part of 1866; he registered July 13, 1867, as born in the island of Cuba, aged 28.


The first great fire in S. F. was on Dec. 24, 1849; it destroyed nearly all the buildings in the block between Kearny, Washington, Montgomery and Clay streets; the loss was about $1,000,000; there was no organized fire dep't at that day.

The second great fire was on May 4, 1850; the loss was about $4,000,000.

The third great fire was on May 14, 1850; loss, about $5,000,000; nearly every building and almost all the merchandise were destroyed between Clay and California streets from Kearny to the water front. The burned district was entirely rebuilt within 60 days thereafter.

The fourth great fire was on Sept. 17, 1850; nearly all the buildings were destroyed between Montgomery, Washington, Dupont and Pacific streets; they were cheap structures; loss, about $500,000.

The fifth great fire was on May 4, 1851; about 2,000 buildings, covering 18 squares, were destroyed, including many that were supposed to be fireproof; loss, over $10,000,000; several lives were sacrificed.

The sixth great fire was on Sunday, June 22, 1851; 14 blocks were burned over, in 4 hours; loss, over $3,000,000.

The seventh great fire was on Oct. 23, 1863; all improvements on the block between California, Sacramento, Davis and Drumm streets, were consumed; loss, about $300,000.

Fire on the N.W. corner of Post and Stockton streets, destroyed the Occidental Skating Rink, and damaged near buildings, Oct. 5, 1871.

The Pacific Wood Preserving Works were destroyed, Nov. 5, 1871; loss, $20,000.

J.Y. Wilson & Co.'s Pork Packing House was consumed, April 1, 1872.

Richardson & Holland's Planing Mill was destroyed May 15, 1872.

Improvements on Drumm street, worth $50,000, were consumed, July 4, 1872.

Hayes Park Pavilion was destroyed Nov. 29, 1872; loss, $60,000.

Pacific Wood Preserving Co.'s Works, on Berry street, were again destroyed, Dec. 18, 1872.

Sage's Warehouse, containing 10,000 cases of coal oil, was burned, Feb. 10, 1873.

Judson & Shepard's Candle Factory was burned June 16, 1873; loss, $50,000.

Wm. J. Heney & Co.'s furniture establishment was damaged in $50,000, Nov. 25, 1873.

Atlantic Hotel was destroyed Dec. 1, 1873; a man named Adams perished.

Allyn & White's, Schultz & Van Bergen's, and other large houses were consumed, July 10, 1874.

The Morocco Manufacturing Co.'s establishment, and the tannery of Geo. Griffin, was burned, July 12, 1874.

The Eureka Hair Manufactory was destroyed, Aug. 30, 1874.

The Alhambra building was badly damaged, March 22, 1875.

The University Mound College building was destroyed, April 4, 1875.

Fire in the vicinity of Fourth and Berry streets caused a loss of $75,000, May 9, 1875.

The Chemical Works at South S. F., were destroyed, July 15, 1875.

Fire in the Brittan building, corner of California and Davis streets, caused a loss of $250,000, May 25, 1876.

The Bay Sugar Refinery was burned June 9, 1876; the loss was $500,000.

The press rooms of the Bulletin and Call were injured to the extent of $5,000, June 11, 1876.

Nearly all the buildings in the block bounded by Third, Fourth, Brannan and Townsend streets, including several mills, manufactories, and the German Hospital, were destroyed, Aug. 28, 1876; loss $500,000.

Sol. Wangenheim & Co.'s pickle factory was destroyed, loss, $10,000, Sept. 3, 1876.

The Capital Flouring Mills, on Sacramento street near Davis, were burned, Dec. 14, 1876.

The steam schooner, Pearl, was burned at Larue's wharf, Feb. 6, 1877.

The Lick House was damaged to the amount of $30,000, July 22, 1877.

Incendiary fires, by anti-Chinese rioters, damaged the great lumber yards at the city front, south of Market street, to the amount of $100,000, July 25, 1877. There followed many suits against the City, which had to make full reparation.

The Bancroft Building on Market street, running back to Stevenson street, was nearly destroyed by fire in 1886.

Fire Alarm and Police Telegraph was established on April 24, 1865.

Fire Department; Act to establish a Paid Fire Dep't was approved March 2, 1866; such Dep't being organized in December following.

Fireman's Fund Insurance Co.; a history of the oldest local insurance Co. is in "Resources of California" for Sept. 1886.

"Fireman's Journal," weekly newspaper, devoted to the interests of fire and military organizations, was established by Chase & Boruck, April 7, 1855.

Firemen's Jubilee, with a grand procession, city and country fire companies being in line, with their engines, occurred in June 17, 1861.

Fire Patrol was established in May, 1875, by the Board of Fire Underwriters.

Fire Insurance Patrol began active duty, May 24, 1875.

Firebaugh, H. C.; prominent lawyer; is a native of Ohio, a graduate of Michigan University (Law Dep't) 1869, and has been at the S. F. bar since 1876. In 1885-86, Mr. F. was a Member of the Assembly.

First Book published in California; death of the author, Dr. F. Wierzbicki, occurred at S. F., Dec. 26, 1860.

First Child of civilized parents born in S. F., was Rosalie, daughter of Jacob P. Leese, born April 15, 1838.

First Constitutional Election—on the adoption of the constitution framed at Monterey, and for City and State officers—occurred Nov. 13, 1849.

First Execution of a person, pursuant to the sentence of a Court, was that of José Forni, who was hung on Russian Hill for the murder of José Rodriguez, Dec. 10, 1852.

First Flour Mills built in S. F. were the Commercial, built by Samuel Grosh, in Aug., 1855.

First National Bank of San Francisco was organized in Oct., 1870.

First Postmaster at S. F., John W. Geary, arrived with the first regular mail from the Atlantic States, on the steamship Oregon, March 31, 1849.

First Fire Insurance Co. established in S. F. was the San Francisco Insurance Co., March 20, 1861; E. W. Burr, President; C. O. Gerberding, Vice President; Geo. C. Boardman, Secretary. Mr. Boardman became President in 1863; the company went into liquidation in 1869, Philip McShane, manager of the Occidental Hotel, acting as Secretary and Agent.

First Survey of S. F. was made by Capt. Juan Vioget in 1839, by order of Gov. Alvarado, and covered the area bounded by Montgomery, Dupont, Sacramento and Pacific streets.

Fisher, George; Consul for Greece; died June 11, 1873; a native of Hungary, aged 78. His life is the subject of a long article in the Bulletin of June 18, 1873.

Fisher, Luther P.; veteran newspaper and advertising agent; has been established in that business in S. F. continuously since 1855, residing always in Oakland.

Fisk, Asa, who had acquired a fortune of half a million dollars by money lending in small sums upon notes with collateral security, died March 5, 1897; a native of Mass., aged 78.

Fiske, Dr. H. M.; distinguished physician; a School Director at S. F., 1878-79 and 1882; member Board of Health, 1889-91; died of paralysis, April 4, 1896, aged 72; native of Mass.

Fitch, Benjamin F.; brother of Wm. S. and G. K. Fitch of S. F., died at Louisville, Ky., July 29, 1879, aged 39.

Fitch, Geo. H.; well-known journalist, and correspondent for the great eastern dailies, has been connected with the S. F. Chronicle continuously since 1880; registered on July 23, 1896, as born in N. Y., aged 43. He is a graduate of Cornell University, and attended the S. F. public schools in his boyhood.

[drawing not included: GEORGE HAMLIN FITCH.]

Fitch, Geo. K.; veteran newspaper publisher and editor; was appointed State Printer by Gov. John McDougal on May 2, 1851; a full statement of the contest for that office between him and Eugene Casserly, is in first vol. of the California Supreme Court Reports, page 520; Mr. F. published the "Times and Transcript" at Sacramento, 1852-53; published with Thos. Rutherford, the "Prices Current and Shipping Lists" at S. F., for several years until towards the close of 1859, when he became one of the proprietors of the Bulletin; purchased, with Loring Pickering and J. W. Simonton, the S. F. Call, in 1870; sold his interests in Bulletin and Call, Jan. 10, 1895; registered May 14, 1867, as born in N. Y., aged 4[_?].

Fitch, Henry S.; brother of Geo. K. Fitch; died at Washington, D. C. (whither he had removed from S. F. and became a well-to-do real estate operator, April 8, 1896; registered at S. F., Sept. 29, 1868, as a native of N. Y., aged 47.

Fitch, Thomas; an orator ranking next to E. D. Baker; born in N. Y. City Jan. 27, 1838; came to California from Wisconsin in 1860; stumped the State for Lincoln in that year; was Assemblyman from El Dorado in 1863; Member of the Constitutional Convention of Nevada in 1864; District Attorney of Washoe Co., 1865-67; represented that State in the lower house of Congress, 1869-71; practiced law in S. F., 1874-78; stumped the State for Greeley in 1872; has been residing in Arizona since 1878; was a Member of the Arizona House of Representatives in 1879. Among his public addresses, which are masterpieces of eloquence, are his Remarks to Sunday School scholars after their Floral Procession in S. F., July 4, 1861; address at dedication of Red Men's Hall, June 17, 1875; oration, July 4, 1875; oration, Memorial Day, 1876; all appearing in the local press; and his oration on Garfield, at Tombstone, A. T., Oct., 1881, a glowing extract from which may be found in the San José Mercury of Oct. 13, 1881. Mr. F. fought a duel near Virginia City, Nev., in 1865, with the poet-editor, J. T. Goodman, receiving a ball in his leg, which nearly ended his career. His home is now at Phoenix, Arizona (Fitch & Campbell).

Fitch, Thomas, Jr.; son of the preceding, was born in S. F., Nov. 30, 1862, and followed the business of a commission broker in S. F. in 1891.

Fitzgerald, O. P.; distinguished Methodist clergyman; Sup't of Public Instruction, Dec., 1867-Dec., 1871; was defeated for the same office by Henry N. Bolander (Rep.), Sept., 1871; was again defeated for that office, by Ezra S. Carr, (Rep.) in Sept., 1875; was editor of Fitzgerald's Home Newspaper, 1878-79; Chaplain of the Assembly, and a Committee Clerk, 1878; removed from the State in 1880; while editor of the Christian Advocate, at Nashville, Tenn., in May, 1886, he was defeated for Bishop of the Methodist Church South, but at the General Conference of that Church at St. Louis, on May 19, 1890, he was elected a Bishop. He was born in N. C., Aug. 24, 1829.

Fitzgerald, Michael J.; a famous marine reporter for the S. F. Merchants' Exchange; became assistant to marine reporter H. C. Hoyt, in the spring of 1883, and was promoted to Hoyt's place, on the latter's death, in 1885. Mr. F. was born in Ireland in 1861, and came with his parents to S. F. in early boyhood.

Flanagan, Thaddeus; President of the United Ireland Branch of the Irish National League, died Sept. 11, 1885, a native of Ireland, aged 51.

Flavin, Martin J.; proprietor of the I. X. L. clothing house since 1874, died suddenly July 15, 1893; a native of Ireland, aged 46.

Fletcher, J. A.; a lawyer who was once law partner of Daniel Webster, and for whom it is said the statesman named his son Fletcher, removed from Boston into Northern California in the Fifties; located at S. F. in 1863, and died Feb. 15, 1873, aged 59; he registered as a native of Vt. See the strange case of Fletcher vs. Judge Daingerfield, 20 Cal., page 427.

Flint, B. P.; head of large wool houses since 1873, was a School Director, appointed Oct. 9, 1889, vice W. F. Goad, resigned, and served to the close of 1890. He was the Republican candidate for Mayor in 1879, and was defeated by Isaac S. Kalloch, nominee of the then powerful Workingmen's Party.

Flint, James P.; senior member of the pioneer shipping and commission house of Flint, Peabody & Co., died at Oakland, March 8, 1873, aged 71. He had kept his residence in Boston until 1864.

Flint, Wilson; whose vote in the legislature of 1856 prevented the election of Henry S. Foote to the U. S. Senate, was State Senator from S. F., 1855-56. (See Bench and Bar, pages 81-82.) He was wont to refer to the people of S. F. as "the noblest constituency on God's earth." Removed to Sacramento in 1859, and engaged in agriculture. For the violent assault upon him by Richard C. Barry in the Senate Chamber, May 7, 1855, see Senate Journal of that session, page 852. Mr. F. died in 1866. He was a pioneer of Dec. 28, 1849.

Flint, Peabody & Co., commission merchants, began business in 1849; they erected the warehouses in the block bounded by Battery, Sansome, Filbert and Greenwich streets, in 1854.

Flood, James C.; senior member of the Bonanza mining firm of Flood, O'Brien, Mackay & Fair, was born at N. Y. City, Oct. 25, 1826; died at Heidelberg, Germany, Feb. 21, 1889; he was a pioneer of Oct. 18, 1849; before going on the journey which was ended by his death, Mr. F. resigned the presidency of the Nevada Bank of S. F., Sept. 13, 1887, Jas. G. Fair succeeding him; he had, on Aug. 16th, executed a power of attorney to his son, Jas. L. Flood, giving his vast possessions into the latter's absolute control. On April 6, 1883, J. C. Flood paid to the trustees of the estate of James Lick, $400,000, for the lot on the westerly corner of Market and Fourth streets, on which the Flood Building was erected a few years later. Mr. Flood was in the habit of making large donations every Christmas to the various Charitable Societies and Orphan Asylums; he subscribed $25,000 to the Irish Famine Fund, Feb. 10, 1880. His estate, amounting to many millions of dollars, was administered in San Mateo County.

Mr. Flood's widow died at S. F., in Jan., 1897.

Flood, James L.; son of the preceding; became Attorney-in-fact of his father, Aug. 16, 1887; of his mother, May 14, 1888; he became a director of the Nevada Bank of S. F., in place of his father resigned, May 17, 1888; and President of the Bank in 1889; he has resided at Menlo Park since 1880.

Flood of 1861-62; Platt's Hall was fitted and arranged for receiving and providing for the Sacramento sufferers, Jan. 15, 1862; the legislature adjourned at Sacramento, and convened in S. F., in the building on Battery street, opposite the Custom House, Jan. 24, 1862.

Flood at Marysville; a committee of S. F. citizens collected $15,000, and sent it to the relief of the sufferers, Jan. 22, 1875.

Floods in France; French residents held a mass meeting and raised funds to relieve the sufferers, June 30, 1875; $7,800 was remitted July 22, 1875.

Floral Procession of Sabbath School Children occurred on July 4, 1861; beautiful words were spoken to them by the great orator, Thomas Fitch. See "Fitch, Thomas."

Flores, Mrs. Magdalena, who was born in S. F. in 1840, of an influential native family, before the American occupation, died at S. F., at No. 28 Hinckley Alley, Dec. 18, 1896.

Floyd, Capt. Richard S.; respected citizen; President of the Lick Trustees, died at Philadelphia, Pa., Oct. 17, 1890. When the war of the Rebellion broke out, he was a cadet at the Naval Academy at Annapolis, and he enlisted on the Confederate side, serving on the privateers Florida and Alabama.; at the close of the war he came to S. F. and found employment in the P. M. S. S. Co., becoming commander of several of their steamers. He married the daughter of the wealthy ex-Judge of the Supreme Court, Henry A. Lyons. The carrying out of the Lick Trust relating to the construction of the greatest observatory of the world on Mount Hamilton, was largely due to Captain Floyd's skill and management. He was born in Georgia in 1843.

Foard, J. Macdonough; one of the founders of the "Golden Era" weekly in 1852, was born in Maryland, arrived in California in 1849; parted with his interest in the "Era" in 1860, and with five others established the Sunday Mercury in 1861. Was a School Director, 1883-84; died Jan. 15, 1892.

Folger, Capt. Francis B., a prominent merchant, pioneer of Aug., 1849, died May 21, 1862.

Folger, Capt. S. M.; died Feb. 12, 1897; native of Mass., aged 83; was father of Mrs. Thos. B. Shannon.

Folsom, Capt. Joseph L.; pioneer of March 26, 1847, whose name was given to Folsom street, died in Santa Clara Co., Cal., in July, 1854. His will is printed as a form in Belknap's Probate Practice; 309 city lots belonging to his estate, were sold Jan. 10, 1856, realizing $607,695. See "Duels."

Foltz, Mrs. Clara S.; a widely known lawyer; was admitted to the bar of the District Court at San José, Sept. 5, 1878. She practice law at S. F. until 1895, when she removed to N. Y. City. Mrs. F. is a sister of the prominent lawyer, Samuel M. Shortridge, and of Mr. Chas. M. Shortridge, proprietor of the "Call." A sketch of Mrs. Foltz's life is in the Post of Aug. 12, 1882.

Having been denied admission to Hastings College of the Law, because of her sex, Mrs. F. brought the question before Judge Morrison of the Fourth District Court, who decided in her favor. The Directors of the College appealed, and the Supreme Court sustained Judge M., saying that "the Directors were not justified in rejecting an applicant for admission as a student in the College, on the sole ground that the applicant was a female." (Foltz vs. Hoge, 54, Cal., 28.) The lady, however, did not take the college course, but was afterwards admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court, upon examination. That tribunal had admitted women to the bar before, as in the case of the wife of the attorney, John N. Young. (See "Young, John N.")

For the case of Mrs. F. against Dr. Henry D. Cogswell, for a $5,000 fee, see local papers of March 13, 14, 1888.

Miss Trella, daughter of Mrs. F., and Dr. Chas. G. Toland of S. F., were married at San Diego, Cal., Oct. 21, 1888.

Foote, Henry S.; distinguished lawyer and statesman; was born in Va., Feb. 29, 1804; after being U. S. Senator from Miss., he resigned the Governorship of that State in 1853, and came to California; was defeated fro the U. S. Senate by the defection of Wilson Flint, a Senator from S. F., in 1856; removed in 1857 to Nashville, Tenn., where he died in May, 1880.

Foote, Henry S.; prominent lawyer; son of the preceding; was born in Miss., Oct. 13, 1840; admitted to the bar in Tenn., in July, 1860; came to S. F. in 1854; was afterwards educated at Georgetown College, D. C.; returning to Miss., held the offices of Justice of the Peace, Probate Judge, and District Attorney; was a Major in the Confederate army; located permanently in S. F., Jan. 1, 1883; was a Supreme Court Commissioner, 1886-91; U. S. District Attorney, by appointment of President Cleveland, since 1894. Mr. F. was appointed a Regent of the University of California by Gov. Markham, in May, 1892; his term will end in 1900.

Foote, Lucius H.; who has published more or less in prose and verse, and is not unknown in the world of letters, was born April 10, 1826, at Winfield, Herkimer Co., N.Y.; educated at Knox College, Ill., and at Western Reserve College, Ohio; arrived in California in the fall of 1853; admitted to the bar in 1856; Justice of the Peace, Sacramento, 1856-57-8; Police Judge, Sacramento, 1859-60; Collector of the Port of Sacramento, appointed by President Lincoln, 1861-62-3-4; Adjutant General California, 1872-73-4-5; Delegate to the Republican National Convention, 1876; located in S. F., 1876; U. S. Consul at Valparaiso, Chili, 1877-80; U. S. Minister to Corea, 1881-83; Treasurer of California Academy of Sciences, and Secretary of its Board of Trustees, since 1891.

Foote, Wm. W.; distinguished lawyer; was born in Miss., Jan. 16, 1846; his father was elected to the U. S. Senate on the same day. Mr. F. came to California first in 1856; he fought in the war of the Rebellion in the Confederate army, being several times wounded and captured; graduated from the University of Virginia, and, after a short journalistic career in Omaha, Neb., came to California in 1869.

Forbes Alexander, acquired a fortune in California prior to the discovery of gold; died in London, England, in 1863. See Bulletin, Jan. 9, 1864.

Forbes, Andrew B.; a prominent citizen, and pioneer of Oct. 10, 1849; was of Forbes & Babcock, agents of the Pacific Mail S. S. Co., from the beginning down to 1863; then held that agency alone until 1865; in 1866-67, was Superintendent of Wells, Fargo & Co.'s Bank; was Assistant Agent of the Pacific Mail S. S. Co. in 1868-69; General Agent of the Widows and Orphans Life Ins. Co., of N. Y., 1870-73; and General agent of the Mutual Life ins. Co., of N. Y., from 1871 to date (1897); also General Agent Continental Fire Ins. Co., 1877-80; also General Agent Niagara Fire Ins. Co., of N. Y., and Commonwealth Ins. Co., of Boston, 1879-80. Was Supervisor of the Seventh Ward, 1871-72-3. Mr. Forbes registered July 16, 1866, as born in N. Y., aged 42. His son, Stanly, has been associated with him in the insurance agency since 1894. The splendid building of the Mutual Life Ins. Co., of N. Y., S. E. corner California and Sansome streets, was completed in 1893.

Forbes, Chas. H.; well-known lawyer; was born in Mich., Dec. 3, 1859; was educated at the Law School of Boston University, graduating with the degree of L. L. B.; admitted to the bar at S. F., in Jan. 1887; and has been in practice at S. F. since 1888.

Forbes, Jas. Alexander; was the principal witness against Castillero in the suit over the New Almaden quicksilver mine, at S. F., in 1858; on July 20th he testified that he had lived in California 29 years; in Santa Clara Valley 26 years, and had married a native California lady there, July 4, 1834. His cross-examination by A. C. Peachy was masterly, and his answers were prompt and showed his great ability. He had been British Consul in California in pastoral days. (See the printed record in five octavo volumes, in United States vs. Andres Castillero, San Francisco, 1861.)

Foresters of America; composed originally of seceding members of the Ancient Order of Foresters; Supreme Court was organized at Minneapolis, Aug. 5, 1889; Grand Court of California was organized Nov. 20, 1889.

Fort Point (since named Fort Winfield Scott); building of was begun in 1854, on the site of a small Mexican fortification, called Fort Blanco.

Foulds, John E.; well-known lawyer; has been connected with the law department of the Central and Southern Pacific R. R. Cos. nearly all the period since 1876, prior to which year he was for a long time phonographer in that department; he was born in England in 1848; was admitted to the bar in 1876. From 1888 to 1891 he was associated in the law practice with Hon. Carroll Cook.

Fountain Convention—to encourage the erection of drinking fountains, and so lessen the necessity for visiting drinking saloons was organized Jan. 8, 1874.

Fountain, Lotta; at the intersection of Market, Kearny and Geary streets, was presented to the city by Miss Lotta Crabtree, the popular actress, whose infancy and youth had been spent in S. F. It was completed in Sept., 1875, being formally accepted by Mayor Otis on Sept. 9th. The presentation speech was made by Henry Edwards, actor. M. Cronin was the contractor for the stone work, plumbing and paving, and placing the Fountain in position; Wyneken & Townsend were the architects, and E. P. Hutchins was the agent for Miss Lotta. The Fountain was cast in Philadelphia, and, as cast, cost $5,775. Mr. Cronin was paid $1,500, the architects $275, and the freight was $875. Total, $8,475.

Fourgeaud, Victor J.; eminent physician; pioneer of Sept. 23, 1847; Assemblyman in 1857; prominent member of the Academy of Sciences; died Jan. 2, 1875, aged 58; a native of S. C.

Fourgeaud, Ellen, widow of the preceding, died at S. F., March 7, 1883, aged 72. She came overland to California from St. Louis in 1846; was of high intellectual attainments; one of the first American women to come to California. Her funeral was from Trinity Episcopal Church.

Fowler, Wm. H.; was born in Illinois, Dec. 6, 1860; admitted to the bar at S. F., June 29, 1888, and has since been in law practice here.

Fox, Chas. N.; distinguished lawyer; Judge of Supreme Court from July 1, 1889 to Jan., 1891; was born in Michigan, March 9, 1829; located at Redwood City, in Aug., 1857; was District Attorney of San Mateo Co. for five years from Nov., 1857; represented Alameda Co. in the Assembly, in 1880; has had his office in S. F. since 1864. See Chapter XXXIX, of "Bench and Bar in California."

Fox, Geo. W.; who has been practicing at the S. F. bar since 1885, was born in N. Y., Aug. 28, 1842; was a soldier in the war of the Rebellion, and was Mayor of Chipota, Kansas, in 1871.

Foye, W. R. S.; has been a resident of S. F. since 1885, when he removed from Sacramento, where he had long been a prominent and wealthy merchant. See "Huntington, Hopkins Co."

Franco-Prussian War;

An enthusiastic meeting was held for the benefit of the French sufferers, Feb. 14, 1871; $11,561 was contributed.

News was received of the signing of a treaty of peace between France and Germany, Feb. 24, 1871.

There was a grand illumination by the German residents on March 21, 1871.

Large and imposing procession of Germans, with literary exercises at the city Gardens, March 22, 1871.

French residents met to raise money to help pay the indemnity to Germany, March 7, 1872; $12,000 was raised on that night.

A French Ransom Fair was held in Union Hall, May 6-11, 1872; $24,000 realized.

The French Ransom Fund amounted to $36,433, June 25, 1872.

Frank, Nathan H.; well-known lawyer, partner of Judge Milton Andros; was born in S. F., June 3, 1858; was admitted to the bar in N. Y. City, in May, 1879; was educated at the University of California, and at the Columbia Law School, N. Y. City; and has been at the S. F. bar since 1879.

Franklin, Lady, arrived by steamer St. Louis from Panama, Feb. 11, 1861.

Franklin, Stephen; Secretary of the Bank of California from its organization in July, 1864, died Jan. 16, 1890; an elder in the St. John's Presbyterian Church, and Secretary of the Presbyterian Theological Seminary; registered June 22, 1866, as born in N. Y., aged 35. He was reporter on the Mercantile Gazette in 1860-61; editor of that paper in 1861-63, residing at San José. The figures 35, opposite his age on the great register in 1866, are thought to be a printer's error, as his friends say he was over 70 at his death.

Mrs. Gertrude Atherton, the story writer and novelist, is a grand-daughter of Stephen Franklin. For a brief notice of Mrs. Atherton, see "Some California Writers," in The Californian Magazine for May, 1893. This talented lady was a Miss Uhlhorn, and was born in S. F. She is now a widow, with a daughter of twelve years, and resides in London, England. In the latest from her pen (before this publication), a review, in "Vanity Fair," she declares that "California is a personality, and about three fictionists have caught it—Bret Harte, Mr. Vachell, and myself." See Supplement.

Frazer, Thomas; an able and opulent Presbyterian divine; Professor of Systematic Theology in the Theological Seminary in the Eighties, has his home in Sonoma County; is the subject of a sketch in the Occident (Presbyterian organ), May 4, 1887. He was born in Scotland in 1819.

Frazer River Mines; Exodus to, occurred in the spring and summer of 1858; by the end of June, one fifth of the Fire Dep't and nine policemen had emigrated; Judge S. C. Hastings and Patrick Crowley had departed; many citizens sold their city homes to raise money with which to get away; 15,000 persons departed during the six weeks ending June 26, 1858; the fever received its first damper on the return of 200 of the gold seekers, by steamer Cortes, July 15, 1858.

Freelon, Thos. W.; prominent lawyer; pioneer of Oct. 12, 1849; Assistant District Attorney, 1868-71; Judge of the Municipal Court of Appeals, 1878-79; Judge of the Superior Court, 1880-82; died March 30, 1885; a native of Vt., aged 58; his funeral was from Trinity Episcopal Church, conducted by the Pioneers and Veterans of the Mexican War.

Freeman, A. C.; widely known author and compiler of law books; was born in Illinois, May 15, 1843; was admitted to the bar at Sacramento, in 1865; his first law book, a "reatise on Judgments,"appeared in 1873; various other works followed, and on the death of John Proffatt, he was engaged by the publishers of "American Decisions," his work beginning with vol. 12 (Sketch by O. T. S. in Evening Post, June 24, 1882.) He located in S. F. in 1885.

Freeman, Ben. H.; pioneer of Sept. 9, 1849; a prominent Mason; pursued the business of stairbuilder for twenty-five years; Commissioner of the Fire Dep't Dec., 18770-Dec., 1873, and President of the Board, 1872-73; President of the Pacific Protective Association, 1869-70; died while visiting N.Y. City, Sept. 16, 1876; a native of Mass., aged 52; his remains arrived under Masonic escort, and reposed in state at the First Baptist Church, from which the funeral was conducted with Masonic rites, Oct. 22, 1876.

Freeman, Frank F.; well-known lawyer; was born at Sacramento, Aug. 13, 1859; was admitted to the bar at that city in Nov., 1884; was deputy State Librarian, 1882 to 1890; located in S. F. in April, 1890; has been since 1885 assistant editor of Americana Decisions, and of American State Reports.

Freeman & Co.'s Express was robbed of $9,865 in gold dust, Aug. 1, 1859; the Company's porter and a confederate had taken the dust on the wharf where the Sacramento steamboat landed; they were convicted of the felony.

Freeman & Co.'s Atlantic and Pacific Express was established in 1849, and continued to 1852; it was re-established May 16, 1855. In 1853-54 John M. Freeman established expresses in the principal cities and towns on the West Coast of South America.

Frederickson, Wm.; an artist, died by his own hand on the beach near the Cliff House, March 28, 1874.

Free Public Library was formally opened on the evening of the 7th of June, 1879, with an address by Mr. A. S. Hallidie.

Fremont, John C.; First Republican candidate for the Presidency, 1856; when Captain in the topographical engineers, U. S.  A., he led a surveying and exploring party across the continent in 1845; arriving at Sutter's Fort, Dec. 10th; arrived at S. F. Jan. 20, 1846; elected U. S. Senator, Dec. 20, 1849, for the short term which expired March 3, 1851. For his overland explorations, see his long letter in Alta, Nov. 20, 1854; early California history is given in his evidence on the Morehead Claim, Bulletin, May 7, 1858. He visited the State in 1888, and on May 4th visited the big trees at Felton, for the first time since 1846; after being Governor of Arizona Territory for a short period, he died in N. Y., July 13, 1890.

French, Frank J.; prominent lawyer; was born in Maine, Nov. 4, 1837; arrived in California, April 12, 1860; admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court in 1870; settled in S. F. in 1867; was Attorney for Public Administrator Leman, 1882; appointed School Director, April 13, 1892, in place of William Harney, deceased, and resigned Aug. 30, 1893.

French Communists; a banquet was given by French residents to Paschal Grousset and Francis Jourde, two of the French Communists who escaped with Henri Rochefort from New Caledonia, May 24, 1874.

French Residents celebrated the anniversary of Emperor Napoleon Third, by a military procession, high mass at the French Church, a national salute from the corvette Didenant, and a ball at Platt's Hall, Aug. 15, 1862.

French Savings and Loan Society (first of that title) was incorporated, Feb. 1, 1860. It suspended Sept. 18, 1878; its Director General, Gustave Mahé, died by his own hand on the previous day; a meeting of the depositors was held in Platt's Hall, Dec. 31, 1878; Judge Dwinelle, of the 15th District Court, declared the bank insolvent, and appointed ex-Governor F. F. Low receiver, Oct. 7, 1878; the Supreme Court set the appointment aside, Dec. 11, 1878; a stormy meeting of depositors was held Dec. 30, 1878; the directors did not decide to go into liquidation until Jan. 22, 1879. Just before that date a new bank with the same title was organized and the affairs of the old bank were turned over to the new.

Fretz, Capt. R. S.; of the banking firm of Fretz & Ralston, 1859, and Donohoe, Ralston & Co., 1862, died at Napa White Sulphur Springs, June 26, 1863.

Friedlander, Isaac; the "Grain King;" a man of large mind and heart, and a giant in physical stature; died July 11, 1878, a native of Oldenburg, aged 54; President of the Chamber of commerce two terms, 1876-77; suspended business, April 4, 1877, with liabilities of over one million dollars; on July 23, 1877, he and Annis Merrill were elected Water commissioners. For his great wheat deals, see financial column of the Bulletin, Sept. 19, 1887. Mr. Friedlander's estate was appraised at $348,440 on Sept. 17, 1878.

Frohling, John; of the early large wine house of Kohler & Frohling, was a resident of Los Angeles, and died there, Sept. 20, 1862, of consumption. Mr. Kohler purchased his interest in the house of the widow.

Fruit Growers organized a co-operative association on Jan. 11, 1876.

Fry, John D.; pioneer of Aug. 2, 1849; President California Safe Deposit and Trust Co. since 1883; his residence, N. W. corner Jackson and Franklin streets, was completed in 1872, at a cost of $40,000. He registered first as a voter on Sept. 23, 1868, as a native of Ky., then aged 50.

Frye, Cary H.; Brevet Brig.-Gen'l, U. S. A., died March 5, 1873, aged 60.

Fugazi, John F.; President of the Columbus Savings and Loan Society; senior member of Fugazi & Co., steamship and railroad agents since 1877; Notary Public since 1883; was born in Italy in 1838.

Fulton Foundry was established by Worth, Hyde & Field as a machine shop, Sept. 8, 1855; style changed to Fulton Iron Works, Hinckley, Hyde & Co. proprietors, July 2, 1856; from 1859 to 1878, Hinckley & Co., proprietors; 1879-95, Hinckley, Spiers & Hayes were proprietors; in 1895 the name was merged in that of the Fulton Engineering and Shipbuilding Works, which had been established with the same proprietors, in 1892. Mr. Daniel B. Hinckley, who is Vice President of the company in 1897, is the Mr. Hinckley who became a member in 1856. Mr. Daniel E. Hayes entered the firm in 1863, and Mr. Jas. Spiers (now President) in 1877.

Funded Debt of the City, under the Act of May 1, 1851, exceeded $1,000,000.

[drawing not included: HALL OF JUSTICE.]

Source: Shuck, Oscar T. Historical Abstract of San Francisco, Volume 1. 1897: San Francisco.